We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Port Douglas Motel to your Saves list
Port Douglas Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Really friendly welcome - nothing was too much trouble, and we asked lots of questions!!(all answers happily provided). They even booked all our tours and arranged pickups at a discount; Great central location. Fresh, clean, quiet, bright and cheerful. Spacious and all the little comfort details attended to. Walking distance to all the highlights of Port Douglas. Would definitely recommend to anyone I know wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate your review and thank you both for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to our Motel should you choose Port Douglas for next year's reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    58
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
119
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My partner and I didn't actually stay at Port Douglas Motel but we hired a Hyundia Getz from Go Topless Car rentals (part of the motel) at the beginning of this month. Usually the cars are ready for collection from 8am once being returned by the previous customer. However, my partner and I were due to do a skydive in Cairns early morning and so needed the car at 7am. The owners were so helpful and friendly! They let us pick up the keys to the car the evening before, but also let us leave the car on their premises and we had no parking, so then we could just come to collect it whatever time we needed it that morning. They charged us no extra even though we were having the car slightly longer. After we returned it and the following days we had left in Port Douglas, whenever we saw the owners they would always say Hello and ask how we were. The car hire was the cheapest we found and the owners were such genuine, friendly people, who went out of their way to help us in any way they could! I would highly recommend you use Go Topless for Car Hire if you are looking for a cheap, hassle free and friendly service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate your review and thank you both for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you both back to our Motel should you choose Port Douglas for next year's reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a family run business and they treat you kinda like family. I stayed here for 2 nights. I came to PD to snorkel the reef and see the rain forest. There were issues with one of my tours and when the tour operator tried to reach me a the hotel and couldn't Bernie found a way to reach me while I was still in Sydney. This was thoughtful and much appreciated! I also want to mention something about Lillian and her husband. The night after I had spent a day suffering from a lot of sea sickness during that reef tour, I came to the front desk to ask for directions. Lillian was there to help me, she noticed that I looked awful!! She was so empathetic with my situation, she offered me fruit and aspirin etc. It was very thoughtful and I just want to say thanks! My short interactions with all three of the owners were fantastic. Just nice people.

As for the motel itself. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a luxury apartment this is not it. This is about a 3 star MOTEL. I was very surprised by how clean and neat the room was. It is clear that the place has been through a complete reno recently. It was extremely close to the center of town. Everything was in walking distance. The room was quiet and I personally felt very comfortable. The little mini fridge and the microwave were a nice bonus. There was also a small table to have a meal or to work on your laptop.

I would certainly recommend this place (and have already to Aussie friends) and would certainly stay there again without a doubt. If you need a comfortable place to put your head at the end of the night this is it!

Thanks again Lillian, you're a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are not only comfortable and clean but also quiet. If you ever return to Australia, we hope to see you back in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Living on the tablelands we often pop down the coast for overnight/s stay." Very impressed!!" The service was exceptional, thankyou Bernie. Rooms spacious, modern, extremely clean and comfortable AND affordable. Only a couple of minutes to beach, shops and restaurants. So good, have just re-booked for 2 nights in Oct. As they say,when your on a good thing, stick to it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your time providing your review of our Motel. We are really pleased that you are coming back to stay with us again in October. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had 7 nights in a family room with 2 teenagers and couldn't fault the comfort or cleanliness.The location is fantastic only 3 minutes to the beach (even supplied with free beach towels) and 2 minutes to Macrossan st.The owners couldn't have been more helpful with organising tours for us.And all at a very affordable cost. Hopefully we will be going back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased you all had a great stay with us and went back to Adelaide fresh and relaxed. It's a shame you couldn 't take the warm weather with you. We hope to see you all again next time you visit sunny Queensland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 3 And loved our overnight stay.A beautiful exceptionally clean and modern room with a toaster,kettle,microwave and a bar fridge.Lovely big walk in shower,nice towels and I loved the bedding especially that gorgeous doona cover.As our vehicle wouldn't fit in the parking they let us park in their yard next door.Bernie and Lillian were very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our comfy guestrooms. We are glad we were able to accommodate your large vehicle on our adjoining property. This large parking area comes in really handy for those travellers with campervans or caravans. See you next time you come to Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Parking was cramped to say the least, why not dump the smokers chairs outside their rooms and make it easier to park your car-after all this is a Motel not a Hotel.
I would have given it 4 stars but found someone elses dental floss in the shower on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We have considered your review. As you occupied a family room, there are no small tables and chairs outside this upstairs area. The hallway is uncluttered. I am totally at a loss to note your reference to "smoker's chairs outside their rooms". The small tables and chairs are located outside some of the downstairs rooms. These are for the comfort of guests who wish to sit outside their room and enjoy the ambience of our property. The parking area is more than adequate. Most guests reverse into the parking spot and have no trouble with ingress/egress. My cleaners pride themselves on their cleaning ability and spotless state in which they leave guest rooms so I cannot comment on your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
5.3 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.