We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, welcoming staff, clean and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Port Douglas Motel to your Saves list
Port Douglas Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 DAY FREE CAR HIRE
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice, welcoming staff, clean and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

we are a family of four and stayed in April. The staff is very helpful, explaining where everything is in Port Douglas. Room and bathroom very clean and nicely decorated. Shops, food, beach and diving 5-10 minutes walking. Parking included.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Your kind words are much appreciated. We are continually improving the Motel so next time you visit it will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
77
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We checked into port douglas motel for one night and it was awesome. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazingly clean and very well equipped. Bed was super comfy, bathrooms was really nice and shower was awesome. Slept really well. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked super nice and clean. The motel is really close to everything and only a few minutes walk to all the shops and bars. Would definatelt go back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness of our guest rooms. See you next time you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Recently we visited friends from overseas staying at the Port Douglas Motel. We liked it so much we checked in and stayed one night, and returned again with our daughter and her husband and stayed over Easter.
What a great motel! It is family owned and operated. Lillian, John and Bernie are excellent hosts, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They have lived in Port Douglas for over 30 years and their local knowledge is invaluable.
The property is well maintained, the rooms are spacious, well appointed, extremely clean and recently renovated. There is a small well equipped kitchenette with microwave, toaster etc. Attached to the pool area is a BBQ/kitchen for guests which is a great idea for cooking breakfast etc
You couldn't ask for a better location.....short walk to centre of Port Douglas and short stroll to Four Mile Beach. Free WiFi and free DVD's. Great value for money. Would we stay here again?
Absolutely! Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Return business says it all. We are so pleased you returned to stay with us and that your daughter and son in law also enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you both in the near future when you come back to Australia from Turkey. Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Friendly family runs this Motel and it's a friendly place. Close to the city center. Nice clean and what you want for a budget motel.. We stayed 2 days.. We could easily have stayed 4 and used it as a base..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Hopefully you can stay longer next time you visit Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barber
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed two days at the Port Douglas Motel. It is priced right, offers a fantastic location and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

When we first arrived we were greeted by Lyllian and Bernie, two hosts that could not do enough for you. They ensured we were well informed of our options while in Port Douglas.

Our first night it was rainning, Lyllian ensured we had an umbrella on our way out for dinner. It was a real personal touch.

The rooms have been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. All modern amenities are available and there is free wifi. The bed was comfortable and the room had both air conditioning and a ceiling fan.

Overall we were glad we stayed and will definitely choose to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay with us and hope that you travel safely on the rest of your journey. We hope to see you both again in Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I came up to stay in Port for one night as we are locals in Kewarra Beach. We have stayed in numerous accommodation places in Port and this is great place for a short stay. The accommodation is bright and breezy and Lillian really makes you welcome. Thank you. Will be back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We are pleased you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon.

Thanks again,

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongaling Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I just recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and could not think of a better motel, our fav to return to, the Port Douglas Motel. Accompanied by our friends, their first visit and certainly not their last also, was all that we expected and more......Lilian, John and son Bernie made us all feel so welcome and at home, the motel had been recently refurbished to our surprise and a job well done, lovely and bright colours and touches throughout, the rooms are so comfortable and well set up, loooove the shower, so big and so easy to access. Another bonus is to be able to park right outside your room and also the kitchen/ bbq set up around the pool area.
We stayed an extra night, having so much fun and love the fact that you can park your car and walk everywhere, with lovely tips of restaurants and things to do from our wonderful hosts.
Cheers !! Nelly and Lindsay....Vanessa and Dougal (Mohammed Dali ) LOL

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a room downstairs particularly if you have lots of luggage and/or children so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerniePDM, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. You four were great fun! We look forward to welcoming your better half back tomorrow!

See you soon,

Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Douglas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Motel

Address: 9 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Motel is perfectly located 2 minutes to the beach and only 200 metres to shops,restaurants and bars!The motel has recently been refurbished and upgraded to a quality 4 star with everything new! We have facilities including a fully equipped guest kitchen/BBQ in the pool area and a guest laundry! We even have car hire onsite and book all your tours and trips.Although a motel we offer more than just a motel.Our facilities are excellent for long or short stay with a safe in each room!Our rooms are clean,comfortable with new ensuite, new pillow topped beds, great pillows,Plasma TV,DVD,Free movie choice,daily towel change and mid stay service for 7 days plus and use of free beach towels.We offer a great tour booking service,can arrange your transfers to and from the airport and onsite car rentals.Your stay is important to us. As owner operators,we ask Try Us We Care! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port Douglas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.