We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lasagna ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bucci Italian Restaurant

Bucci Italian Restaurant
41 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland QLD 4877, Australia (Formerly Buccini)
+61 7 4099 6364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 94 restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $9 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bucci Italian Restaurant has been a favorite with locals and tourists alike for modern urban Italian, since 2009. Established by Spencer Patrick, Bucci delivers Italian buzz to the heart of Macrossan Street. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days per week, Bucci is family friendly affordable and delicious.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best lasagna ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This food at this place was awesome! Best lasagna I've ever had! Pretty small serves so not brilliant value for money but at the same time it was worth it for the amazing quality food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    339
    187
    50
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Usually on the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been here several times before in our holidays to Port Douglas and the food has always been great. This time is no different. However, the buzz that has been, was sadly missing. I know they were short staffed on the evening we attended, and some of the meals were just a tad late, but nothing too dramatic. I feel as though they have steered too far to the fine dining end of town and lost part of that natural ambiance that comes with great Italian style food. Still, I will go back next time with the hope that the mood matches the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner with our toddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We did not have a reservation but got in before the dinner rush. Staff were very helpful and attentive. We had our toddler with us and they we happy to make us welcome. Dinner and wine was very delicious. We will be back to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive place, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It seems the Italian places in Port ask absolute top dollar but fail to match their asking price, the food here was good but so over priced that you would not return. Service was good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here early Jan 2014 and were very hopeful but totally disappointed. We ordered a starter each which came 10 minutes apart! We had ordered wine on arrival but had to ask once our second starter finally arrived for our wine as they seemed to have forgotten about us. The waitress eventually then returned to advise they didn't have the wine we had patiently waited for! We then chose another wine which was fizzy on arrival and clearly corked and sent it back to get another underwhelming wine all to the charge of $65+ dollars per bottle with no apology. The food was average at best and I wouldn never return here when there are much friendlier and all round better restaurants on Macrossan St. The Watergate for example is what a restaurant should be.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucci Italian Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bucci Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucci Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.