We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Blanca - the Tropical House

Casa Blanca - the Tropical House
Casa Blanca - the Tropical House
Casa Blanca - the Tropical House
Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca - informal living area
Lounge area surrounded by the pool
Shell Bedroom with king bed & 2 balconies
Port Douglas
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washout
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“It was just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We try to stay at vacation rentals when on vacations and loved the reviews for Casa Blanca. We di very much enjoy our stay. We were there in the rainy season. The place was well kept but certainly not luxurious. The rooms were a great size and the bathrooms were wonderful too. Things were not spotless in the house. At this time of the year, we did struggle to keep the temperature in the house comfortable even though they do have air conditioners in many of the rooms.

It is very close to four mile beach (which we were not impressed with) but definitely not walkable to town. We ended up renting a car which was cheap and, even though it is the other side of the road for Americans, it was easy driving.

The real killer was the power failure on our last night. The power went out (which I guess is somewhat common in the area) at 8pm. We had to be up at 3am to get the shuttle back to the airport. The place got incredibly hot and non of us were able to sleep very well at all. Multiple calls to the caretaker didn't really get us anywhere. Other houses had power - we checked the circuit breaker which was fine but it never did come back on and we never heard what happened.

It was pretty disappointing to end the stay that way. Next time I would stay closer to town and not worry about the beach. In all fairness, we did not see any particularly nice hotels that would have made great alternatives. Also, no wifi.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2013
Hello Jason,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Casa Blanca – the Tropical House during your holiday to Australia in February. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review about the property.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with he power failure on your last night. This was due to the power company transformer on the pole outside the property. Whilst a number calls were made to the power company, we were informed a crew were not available until the next day as it was not an emergency. My apologies for not sending an email explaining this.
I was sorry to read you weren’t impressed with Four Mile Beach and felt the distance into town is too far to walk, as a number of our guests have mentioned they enjoyed their daily walk into town along Four Mile Beach.
It was pleasing to hear you liked the size of the bedrooms and bathrooms. Space is something we pride ourselves on at Casa Blanca.
When you are next visiting the Port Douglas I do hope you might re-consider your return to the property, as I would certainly welcome the opportunity to ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons.
Happy travelling!
Ann
Owner & Manager of Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Curlydodi...
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second trip to Port Douglas. We liked it so much we came back with our extended family and choose to stay at the gorgeous Casa Blanca . Sometimes websites and creative photography can mislead you but not in this case. It truly is a haven, beautifully decorated, lots of space and stocked with everything ( & more) that you could possibly need for the perfect holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spacious , tranquil and very well appointed
Liked least: Having to lock the front door from the outside and go back in through the side door.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Melbourne
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Melbourne
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, Greg. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Tropical North Queensland. We would be delighted to welcome you back. Best wishes, Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sgsydney
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My extended family and I had a holiday planned. Ranging in ages from 4 to 64, we wanted a place that could let us catch up yet give us our own space and privacy. From the moment we entered Casa Blanca, we knew we had struck holiday-rental jackpot. From the comforting and inviting living areas, to the generously appointed kitchen, to the spacious gardens with the hammocks under the palm trees and the stunning pool - the entire experience was faultless. The proximity to town was great; we could duck out for a morning coffee, stock up on a few basics and come back to the house to lounge and laze. A bookshelf stacked with good reads, piles of tempting foodie magazines that inspired us to cook simple yet wonderful meals, games and lego for the little kids, even pool toys - everything has been thought of and provided. Port Douglas is one of my favourite places, and this was the perfect house to relax, rest and have a truly lovely holiday. Thank you to Anne and Lee.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Daynamac1...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa Blanca – pure paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Deciding on a house for a family holiday is very important. It sets the tone, becomes the base of many happy memories. Casa Blanca turned out to be the perfect choice for us, and I couldn’t speak more highly of our stay there.

I should have realised early on by the incredible service I was afforded during the booking process; Ann is not only extremely knowledgeable but also clearly passionate about the area and gets great pleasure in sharing it with others. She gave us many great recommendations for restaurants, tours and local haunts.

The family was blown away when we arrived at the house. We had five adults and two children (11 and 12 year olds) and were accommodated extremely comfortably.

Needless to say the kids loved the pool. The pool here is not just a boring square pool out the back of a house, but a wrap around pool with a stunning rock water feature for hours of fun. (Plus, adults can laze around in one side of the pool while kids play loudly in the other and not be annoyed. Perfect!)

One of the things we loved most was the extremely well stocked kitchen. Lots of places say they can house up to 10 people but only have one pot. Not Casa Blanca! It provides a complete kitchen that made it easy for us to cook for 9 (in fact, we did most nights as we wanted to enjoy the comforts of our surroundings!) Another highlight in the kitchen was the icy pole holders; the kids filled them with juice and were set for the week!

The lush gardens, the stunning bedrooms, iPod docks, local information and produce, pool toys, proximity to the beach, everything about this place made our holiday just perfect.

It just feels like Ann has thought of everything. Huge thank you to her and her team of locals for providing such an incredible experience. We will definitely be back and will be recommending to all of my friends!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Amazing pool and the close proximity to the beach.
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect!!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Allezlesr...
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Casa Blanca for 5 nights in July 2011. We were welcomed by Anne Scott, the owner herself who was obviously very proud of what she had achieved there. She had every right to be. It is the epitomy of calm, both the house itself (which is beautifully decorated and equipped) and the garden. We spent hours relaxing in the secluded hammocks in the garden area while the kids really enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool. The house is only a few minutes from the beach along which one can walk into Port Douglas in about 45 minutes (although this is the kind of place where time is not important). Port Douglas itself is a quaint small town with some really good restaurants as well as a lively market (I believe on a Sunday morning). It was also a great base for exploring the area and Anne has taken time to put together a fairly extensive portfolio of the many things to do locally.
We were delighted that we chose to stay there. Unfortunately as we live on the other side of the world we are not likely to return any time soon. However if we every get back to Port Douglas we would be delighted to stay there again. We could not recommend it highly enough.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: calm surroundings
Liked least: nothing really
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$434
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Ann s
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2009
Calendar Updated: 24 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing