We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty pizzas quick service for Saturday night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Shack Restaurant

The Beach Shack Restaurant
29 Barrier Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A local favourite, "The Shack" introduces you to a truly tropical Port Douglas dining experience with a wonderful mix of funky ambiance and laid back Queensland style. An eclectic mix of sandy floor, colourful lanterns, and a chill out bar with comfy couches, "The Shack" offers a delicious restaurant menu or more relaxed pizza bar menu. Come in for a beer and a pizza or a bubbles and tapas - it's what the locals do!
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tasty pizzas quick service for Saturday night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Ordered takeaway pizzas that were tasty and served pretty quickly. Bases were nice and thin allowing the toppings to be featured. The biggest size were great size for 2 adults.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    116
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great service , no value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

After waiting 1 hour we got some pretty average food. The sizes were very small , with an very expensive bill compared to the other places in Port Douglas . The staff were very kind and lovey .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good vibe, food WHOPPING let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Met by very friendly staff, place looked great. I ordered the pork belly special for $28.00 , unfortunately this was not worth it, pork belly overcooked and bland, with a serve of plain rice and a very small salad. My wife had the fish curry special 'no curry in the fish curry" very bland and light on also for $28.00. This is very unfortunate as the place seems to have great potential and perhaps we should of stuck to their pizzas and maybe so should they.
We were going to email them but after reading the review below probable best not too, Still nice place though but disappointed.
I would go to Surf Life Saving Club in PD now that was good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Arrived without a booking during school holidays and they found us a table all the same. Place was busy - we had been recommended to this place by a couple who live locally and I understand why.

So nothing too fancy here, but good fresh food, pizzas are tasty, and we fed a family of 2+2 for $80. Staff are efficient and friendly. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 6 loved the atmosphere - complete with guitarist/singer on a Friday night. It is NOT cheap but IS relaxed & family friendly & the food was yummy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Shack Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to The Beach Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Shack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.