We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best seafood curry I ever had!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Shack Restaurant

The Beach Shack Restaurant
29 Barrier Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A local favourite, "The Shack" introduces you to a truly tropical Port Douglas dining experience with a wonderful mix of funky ambiance and laid back Queensland style. An eclectic mix of sandy floor, colourful lanterns, and a chill out bar with comfy couches, "The Shack" offers a delicious restaurant menu or more relaxed pizza bar menu. Come in for a beer and a pizza or a bubbles and tapas - it's what the locals do!
Melbourne
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“best seafood curry I ever had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A local told me about this place so I went. It;s a nice chilled out place with sand on the floor and very friendly staff. From the look of it you kinda think you will get ordinary but ok cafe style food, but this is far from the truth! The food is amazing, especially for what you pay. Its quite an interesting and innovative menu without the same ol same ol...

I started with a special - a seafood curry, it was so flavoursome and delicious I salivate whenever I think about how good it was, each mouthfull was sensational. Lots of different seafood including crab, nice coconut/lime flavour...tropical...

The port belly entree is to die for!

The kids meals are huge and very nice.

Verdict - go, go now!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    130
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience - Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We dined at the The Beach Shack on our last night in Port Douglas. We went to the Beach Shack because of the sand floor and it was close to where we were staying.

We enjoyed the meals and the staff were very attentive whilst not being over zealous.

Two things I must point out - firstly we were told by one the waiter staff, for our children not remove their footware to enjoy putting their feet in the sand, as there could be glass in the sand??

Secondly the photos shown here through Trip Advisor are slightly misleading - The Beach Shack is about 200 metres from the beach, not a metre or two as given by the impression in the photos.

I could see Four Mile Beach in the distance but it certainly wasn't a couple of metres away as shown in the pictures.

Otherwise The Beach Shack is worth going too, it's about 3kms out of the centre of Port Douglas, but if you let the local bus shuttle know when your boarding, they will drop you at the front door of the restaurant and pick you up after lunch / dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri F, Manager at The Beach Shack Restaurant, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your last meal in Port Douglas at the Beach Shack.

As an explanation for yourself and other readers: we are of course a restaurant and it is a safety regulation to wear footwear at all time in such establishment. Like in every other restaurant or pub, glassware breaks and it is dangerous to walk around barefoot, or have kids playing around barefoot. We understand that the "feet in the sand" idea is tempting but to avoid children stepping on broken glass and ruin a holiday, it is better to enjoy it with shoes on. It is still a great feel! Legally we have to tell our customers to keep their footwear on, sand floor or no sand floor.

We really appreciate you telling other readers that the photos posted of the view are incorrect. We have reported them to trip advisor many time but they still haven't been removed, unfortunately. Thank you for letting people know, it could be disappointing for our guests to expect the restaurant to be on the water when it is not.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback, hope we have clarified the few points you mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant with reasonable pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Funky restaurant - with sand covered floor giving the vibe of a beach shack...
Bar at the back is great for pre dinner drinks
Pizza was okay and certainly not the best that you will get elsewhere in port douglas but staff friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, dreadful food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We read the reviews and we were disappointed by the food. the sharing plate was nice, nothing amazing and tge pizzas were nowhere near Italian style, it was shocking Aussie pizza with cheap ingredients. too many good restaurants in port to bother with this one. The atmosphere and sand on the floor is a fun touch for the kids

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The restaurant I liked best in PD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a very nice place, cozy and informal, very nice people. Food is refined and well cooked, I really like how they cook fish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Shack Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to The Beach Shack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Shack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.