We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lady Douglas amazing venture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Douglas River Cruise

Lady Douglas River Cruise
Wharf Street | Reef Marina, Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4099 1603
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 87 Activities in Port Douglas
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lady Douglas amazing venture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having already had some great experiences in Port Douglas we were pondering what to do next when discovered a brochure on the Lady Douglas - what a great decision to board this replica paddle steamer and what an adventure we had. Upon boarding we were offered a choice of wine/champagne/beer or juice followed by dip/cheese and biscuits. The trip was just over 1 1/2 hrs and only $30.(What i would call value for money). We were so privileged to see crocodiles not only on the side of the bank, but have one come close enough to the side of the boat for some great photoes. We were so lucky to also see it launch out of the water not only once but twice trying to catch his dinner. We also had a magnificent sea eagle soar over the boat from one side of the bank to the other and perch on a tree (i"m sure he was just as intrigued watching us as we were him,) he put on a great performance for us. How lucky were we to see nature in such a beautiful setting performing at its best. I cant remember the girls names running the tour but they were so friendly answering all manner of questions and ensuring we all had a great day. Thank you so much.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a worthwhile little journey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice hosts, drink on arrival, sets the mood!

You are working with animals so there are no guarantees so don't expect to be inundated with crocodiles etc.

It took a little while but eventually the persistence of the driver paid off and we saw a couple of good size crocs...and it was worth the wait. They are truly exceptional creatures!

The cruise itself if you do sunset like we did, is very peaceful and relaxing...a great time of the day.

In hindsight, you could argue that you could probably just hire a small boat and do it yourself. If you are comfortable with that and can be bothered, do that! That's what I would do next time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lady douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked this little cruise at the last minute as we'd had such wet weather and didn't fancy going in the rain. So glad we didn't miss it out of our time in Port Douglas!! Nicky was an excellent guide with a wealth of knowledge about the crocs and the area. Jock the dog was with us for part of the trip and he was excited about going for a swim in the mangroves until he was passed onto a passing boat, I thought he was going to be bait!! The whole trip had a relaxed feel to it and we felt in vet safe hands. We were lucky to see 2 crocs, one small and " the big boy" Charlie. Our 4 year old was not too interested in looking at the crocs but loved the fact that she got to steer the boat. As the trip is only 1 1/2 hours long it great for families with young kids. Pop down to the Tin Shed for a fish and chip tea after and marvel that the water you are sitting over could have a croc gliding through as you eat!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lady douglas cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The cruise was fantastic, the crew very friendly,homely and very proficient, professional and informative on the cruise. Their natural affinity with the wild life was great and really lovely to see... Next time I am up there I am certainly doing the trip again! Thank you Lady Douglas for a memorable trip!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Non event hampered by poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We took the croc viewing tour, which was billed as comp drinks and snacks. In reality it is one comp drink with a handful of crackers and cheese served by a dour matron. There were no crocs in the mangroves, except one that was about a foot long. We did see a sea eagle that got the assemblage excited, but all in all the investment was a waste and this "cruise" had zero value.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny E, Owner at Lady Douglas River Cruise, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your trip but your review does seem overly harsh so I would like to respond.

It is unrealistic to expect unlimited complimentary drinks on a trip that costs $30 and lasts 1 1/2 hours. We are very clear in our brochure, and all other material, that the trip includes one complimentary drink. This can be a taken as a welcome drink, or taken later in the trip if you prefer. There is a bar on-board and the prices for extra drinks are very fair eg. Cascade Light $3.50, Pure Blond $6.00, Hardy's champagne $5.50 /glass.

The snacks do include cheese and crackers but also olives, sliced baguette and carrots with dips such as hummus, tzatziki and beetroot, crisps and a fruit platter on earlier trips. They are meant as an accompaniment to the drinks and we do not pretend they are meant to fill a hungry person. There is normally plenty to go round but maybe you were unlucky with what was left. If this is the case it is best to ask the hostie for more.

I do apologize regarding your impressions of the hostie. As you may note from other reviews your opinion is unusual. We have the same two ladies working for us for several years and they both do a great job. One has had a recent run of bad news concerning the health of close friends and it is hard to keep that totally separate all the time. They are experienced local women with a lot of knowledge and could answer just about any question you have. They are both friendly, genuine and competent ladies; although they may not be the youngest girls in the marina, and they politely refuse to wear a uniform with a miniskirt ;) they would be very offended to be called a matron...

We too are disappointed if we don't get good crocodile sightings. We try to give people realistic expectations of what they will see but the animals are all wild and it is illegal in Queensland to feed them or attract them to a boat. We are lucky that they are used to our boat and we know the best places to look. Plenty of our trips have good enough sightings that people rave about it to others giving them very high expectations. We state in our brochure that crocs are seen on about 90% of trips. In the dry season we can go months seeing crocodiles on every trip but in the wet season, when you visited, the water is very warm and the crocs don't need to bask in the sun and are hard to find.

I am surprised that you didn't enjoy seeing a sea eagle close up. We were even chartered by the BBC last year to film them as it is unusual to get as good a view of them in wild as we often get. The point is that the animals we find are wild and in their own habitat. To lots of people this far outweighs the variability in what we see, others prefer the certainty of a zoo or park.

Finally, I should point out that we are a small family business and this is our only source of income. We are fully aware that we have to try our best to make sure our passengers have fun and get good value for money and we are sorry that you did not feel this.

Regards, John and Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Douglas River Cruise also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland

Been to Lady Douglas River Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Douglas River Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.