We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Balboa Holiday Apartments
1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Balboa apartments are located just across the road from the beach Garrick street is a quiet street just off the main street of Port Douglas. The apartment was spacious with full kitchen facilities. The outdoor areas are surrounded by lovely gardens and the pool is a very nice place to while away an afternoon when it s hot. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I am a travel agent and have to say that this is one of the best places I have stayed in Port Douglas. We had two 3 bedroom apartments for our stay and were so impressed with the hotel. The apartments are huge, and it is in the BEST location- right opposite the beach, and when travelling with kids, this is a must. The website does not do this place justice, it is clean, comfortable, has a great swimming pool and in a perfect location. I would highly recommend it and will definately be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We have stayed at a number of different hotels over our many visits to Port Douglas. This was our first time at the Balboa and we have already planned the timing of our next stay. The location is excellent - short walk across the road to Four Mile Beach, and an easy stroll up Macrossan Street to the shopping, restaurants, and night life. Lynette and Andrew are first class, friendly on-site managers who made us feel at home from the outset.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

When in Port Douglas we stay at Balboa, it's at the beach end of Macrossan St across the road from the beach. As a family we have holidayed in many tiny two/three bedroom dog box apartments and we're totally over the big resorts and their lack of facilities to be self contained, tiny balconies and lack of privacy. We love this place as the rooms are huge, you have everything you could possibly need, big comfy couches, big balconies, you never hear another guest and your hosts Lynette & Andrew add a great personal touch to you stay in Port. Our favorite rooms are 9 or 11 and when we have friends drop by and they all say they cannot believe how big the apartment is. Great place to stay when you don't want to be around lots of people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide south australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We have been to Port Douglas a few times before and this was by far the best accomodation. Now that we know about this place we will never stay anywhere else. Balboa is located at the very end of Macrossan Street so it is directly across from the beach. Which means there are sea views. This is quite rare if you want to be close to the restaurants and shops as a lot of the beach front accomodation is too far to walk to Macrossan St. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple - the apartments were huge including an ensuite. We had a front apartment on the second level which had a wonderful balcony with sea views. Probably the only criticism would be that the pool area is quite small so if it was busy it would very quickly be overcrowded. But with the beach literally across the road, who cares! We were there in low season so it wasnt a problem and we mostly had the pool to ourselves. The managers are very friendly and helpful as well. This place met all my criteria - I wanted to be a short walk from the shops and restauants, walking distance to the beach, have a sea view, and comfortable and well kept accomodation. The queen bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable. There are newer, trendier places around but they have much smaller rooms and as for a balcony with a sea view (and I mean actually looking across the ocean not just a tiny glimpse) these are as rare as hens teeth. There was also a substantial kitchen and a laundry and the airconditioning woked well plus all rooms had fans. And all for a very reasonable price. Seriously, what more could anyone want?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Holiday Apartments

Address: 1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Balboa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.