We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balboa was perfect for our week in Port Douglas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Balboa Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Balboa Holiday Apartments
1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
delaware
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Balboa was perfect for our week in Port Douglas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After flying from Perth after two weeks on a cruise ship, we thought we had died and gone to heaven when we arrived at our Balboa apartment! So spacious, light and airy, decorated in tropical greens and whites, with a lovely view across the street of 4 mile beach and the Coral Sea - it was paradise!
The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need for a week's stay - we just needed to provide the food - and Coles was right down Macrossen St. with a wonderful selection. The bed was very comfortable and having 2 bathrooms was a pleasure. The huge wraparound deck overlooking the beautifully landscaped gardens was fantastic also. And the pool was a delight we enjoyed almost every day since the weather was extremely hot and humid (but thankfully we had very little rain!).
Lynette and Andrew were wonderful managers who booked our sunset cruise and Great Barrier Reef tours and also provided good advice about trips to Mossman Gorge and Daintree River to see the crocs - and then suggested we visit the wildlife habitat to see all the other animals we missed during our visit to Australia -- and it was great!
Our week in Port Douglas was one of the highlights of our trip, and the Balboa was the perfect accommodation- we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Apartment 11 , with a huge wraparound deck overlooking both Garrick and Macrossan St., was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends of ours in Canberra recommended this property to us as soon as they heard we were heading up to Cairns/Port Douglas, and we were so pleased they did.

Perfectly located at the end of Macrossan Street for restaurants, tours and a short walk to the marina for trips to the reef and close to the top end of Four Mile Beach for beautiful views and swimming (outside stinger season.) The 13 or so apartments are on a spacious block meaning each one is large and the pool is a decent size too (along with two wading pools and a spa pool.) Our kids almost dissolved, they spent so much time enjoying the water!

Our apartment was well appointed with all we needed for a week long stay which was mainly self-catered. Living areas were spacious and airy with good quality beds and sofas etc. Our balcony was great, as was the little electric barbeque.

The managers, Andrew and Lynette, were friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome.

We had a fantastic holiday at Balboa and would love to come again.

Room Tip: We had apartment 4 which was very spacious with a large leafy balcony and well positioned at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked based on the TripAdvisor ratings, and I was not disappointed. Everything was just as promised, a roomy one bedroom apartment, with a large deck overlooking the beach across the street. Lynette was most helpful, and and always available, despite our late evening arrival. It was great to have beach towels to take on our dive trips. The internet worked quite well, we were even able to use Skype to make a few calls back home. The location was great, close to a coffee shop, and some fun shopping. We were close enough to the beach to take our evening glass of wine over and enjoy the sun on the water as the day ended. Beware of the sand flies, though.
It was a great value for the area, and there were no negatives to our experience. While it was not 5 star luxurious, I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved our second floor apartment, overlooking the water, but there are two flights of stairs to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved being there. Location : Great. We were at walking distance for everything. Lynette booked all of our tours and everything was perfect. With our 9 year-old daughter, the pool was a hit ! We would love to go back !

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Qld
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you are looking for a 3 bedroom apartment, it would be hard to go past Balboa. We stayed in apartment 14, top floor north east corner. Two couples plus another adult, so it would have been nice to have 3 bedrooms & 3 bathrooms, but this is difficult to find at a reasonable price and within walking distance of the village and the beach. As the photos show, the living area is enormous. Apartment 14 has a small outdoor deck with dining table & electric BBQ. Filtered views of the beach as the block in front has been cleared of buildings. Look for the Curlews that have made this block their home. The apartments below on the 2nd level have huge open decks that would be great in winter.
Nothing to fault in this apartment. It was a few years old, but very clean and still modern, all the furnishings seems new, everything worked (the Miele dishwasher is probably 10 years old but cleaned perfectly), plenty of plates, etc for 6 people. Friendly managers as other visitors have said.

Room Tip: Apartment 14 probably has the best view, 12 is next door with a larger open deck and still a view to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family of five stayed at Balboa for 10 nights over Christmas/New Year 2012. Having stayed elsewhere in Port Douglas over the years, this time we needed more space ( our eldest is 17 ) and could not go past the three bedroom apartment with everything we needed to make sure our holiday was stress free!! And it certainly was that!! Walking distance to the beach plus the fabulous restaurants, shops etc on the main street. The apartment was exceptionally clean and comfortable...I'd say the cleanest accommodation I've ever experienced. Andrew and Lynette were delightful and you can tell they take pride in their business. We will definitely be back at Balboa hopefully some time in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Balboa apartment for 8 nights at the beginning of January.

We were initially struck at how beautifully clean and immaculately kept the apartment was. We could not fault it. We stayed in a top floor 2 bedroom apartment, which was exceptionally spacious and lovely and bright thanks to the numerous windows throughout the apartment.

We were impressed by how well stocked the kitchen was, making it a breeze to cook when we decided to do so.

The location is idea - the beach is just across the road and all of the shops and restaurants of Macrossan Street are right at your fingertips.

Given we were travelling in the low season, we were lucky to have the pool to ourselves nearly every day.

We had a fantastic stay at Balboa and will not bother looking at any other accommodation in future - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balboa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Holiday Apartments

Address: 1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Balboa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.