We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Port!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Balboa Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balboa Holiday Apartments
1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Port!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I cannot possibly recommend this property high enough! We spent a wonderful week in a top floor, spacious, clean, 2 bedroom with a view of the ocean. With the patio doors open, the ocean breeze blew through during the day and the efficient AC made for a great night's sleep. A very short walk to the main shopping/restaurants provided our 18 year old girls with some independence and made evening meals and strolls fun for all. Lynette and Andrew were friendly, helpful hosts. Their suggestion of the Calypso snorkel tour to the reef was also fabulous.We missed Balboa the second we left.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

How good it was to sit on our huge second storey balcony, surrounded by lush palms looking at 4 Mile Beach just 50 metres away. Our immaculately clean apartment was a continuation of indoor/outdoor living with floor to ceiling sliding glass doors opening onto the balcony - complete with outdoor furniture and BBQ. Other features included air conditioning and ceiling fans plus a fully equipped, modern kitchen with granite benches. We enjoyed the daily, short walk into Port Douglas with its huge selection of eating places and shops. On days when we chose not to visit the beach, the large courtyard pool was the place to swim and relax. When we return to Port Douglas we will certainly stay at Balboa Apartments with their wonderful managers, Andrew and Lynette who were so friendly and accomodating to our every need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Balboa apts in Port Douglas for 4 nights and shared a 3 bedroom apt with friends. I was very impressed with how spacious and comfortable the apartments were. Service from mangement (we dealt with Andrew) was top class and that is why I felt compelled to write a review. We all felt like we were valued guests, which you don't get at too many places. Balboa is in perfect location, next to main beach & at end of main street (but also very quiet area). I have no complaints and would definitely return if I ever had chance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family of 5 stayed for 10 nights in the Balboa Apartments. The rooms are spacious, the location is great as we were next to the beach where the surf patrol is. We also were able to stroll to the many cafes and shops along Macrossan St and the Marina Mirage. This was very convenient when we took the Aquarius sunset cruise as it was BYO drinks. Highly recommended.
The apartments were well equipped and the pool was wonderful. A comfortable 28 to 30 degrees and deep enough for our teenagers to have fun. Apartments also had ceiling fans in all rooms and aircon. Tv in the living room and master brm
Our hosts were very friendly and extremely helpful both with recommendations for activities and the little problems encountered with a laundry malfunction.
The balcony view was of Macrosssan St and the beach which is very rare in Port Douglas.
We were in a 3 brm top floor apartment. Highly recommended on the basis of location, space value for money. We even got a discount as we booked for 10 nights.

Room Tip: Our apartment was number 14. The one below us had a very large balcony which went round the corner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Best position close to town and the beach with first class facilities and excellent management. Stayed many times in Port Douglas would give Balboa 99 out of 100.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have just spent 7 nights at the Balboa from the 31st January to 8th April
This is one of the best places we have ever stayed at in all our travels. Lynette and Andrew are two of the most welcoming hosts we have ever met and they are always good for a chat and any assistance with anything that we needed during our stay.
The appartments are very large and with 3 grown up children tagging along this was very welcome. The kitchen was full size and had every appliance, plate and utensile that we needed for all our cooking needs. A BBQ on the balcony was also well used.
As the Balboa is centrally located everything was within walking distance.......the beach, restaraunts, pubs and the marina. Even though we had hired a car, it was only used for the drive from Cairns, a trip to the Cape and to Mossman Gouge.
Next time I will get a limo to the Port from Cairns and hire a car locallly for the day if I feel we need one.
Overall we will be returning to Port Douglas and will stay at the Balboa again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We enjoyed a 7 night stay in apartment 12. The accommodation was on the top floor and looked out towards the sea (through palm trees and was literally just across the road from the beach). We couldn't believe how lucky we were to have such a large space as the apartment was three bedroomed (smallest two rooms locked off) and had two bathrooms (one was a very big ensuite), a huge master bedroom with lots of storage, a huge and very well equipt kitchen and a huge dining and living area - amazing! The only thing that wasn't so huge was the balcony, but it was more than sufficient for our needs. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, we were helped to our apartment with our bags and our hosts made sure we were okay for food etc. (it was one of the nicest welcomes I have every received at an accommodation). As part of our low season deal we got a free excursion and we opted for the Aquarius sunset cruise - we were supplied with a lovely bottle of white wine to take with us as it was a BYO setup (I love BYO... we need this in the UK) - this cruise is well worth doing and the catamaran is brand new and very luxurious. We stayed in early January (from the 5th to 12th 2012) and the weather was amazing (not one bit of rain). I think we were very lucky because the locals said it was unusual for the time of year and they were waiting for the rainy season to begin. Port Douglas and the area is lovely. We enjoyed taking the hire car up to Mossman Gorge, Cape Tribulation & the Daintree Rainforest and did the Bruce Belcher Crocodile Hunting trip (this is a must and Bruce Belcher is a legend). Enroute we stopped at the Daintree Ice Cream place to try some unusual flavours of ice cream (wattleseed, We also went up to the Tablelands and visited the Coffeeworks in the Cairns Highlands, a lovely mango winery and we then looped back round onto the coast road to visit Palm Cove enroute back to Port Douglas. We went on the Quicksilver for a snorkelling trip, which was expensive and commercial, but a great choice for me as I am a little scared of open water and they have pontoons fixed on the Barrier reef so it felt very safe. We also got a 30% discount on the Lowe Isle snorkelling trip the Quicksilver group run later in the holiday and the first trip had really built my confidence so I was happy snorkelling from shore and on my own. It's pretty pricey to eat out in PD so we opted to BBQ a few evenings - especially after a poor experience eating at the Iron Bar (AWFUL, RUDE STAFF, OVERPRICED AND CRUELTY TO CANE TOADS)... anyway a bottle of wine on the beach followed by a BBQ was something we really enjoyed... very relaxing! All in all this was a lovely location, we had a great time and as this was part of our belated honeymoon trip we really weren't disappointed and would recommend this place to other people.

Room Tip: Room 12 is huge with nice outlook towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balboa Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Holiday Apartments

Address: 1 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Balboa Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.