We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to treat yourself then this is the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Grove Apartments to your Saves list
Coconut Grove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“If you want to treat yourself then this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

1 min walk to the beach. Situated on the main street in Port Douglas so shops and restaurants at your door step for great convenience. We stayed in a penthouse, doesn't get much better. Full apartment style layout with everything you need. On the roof top above your apartment, with private internal stairs, is your own private pool and plunge pool set to 30-32 degrees C. Just perfect on a hot day. Complete privacy and great views. Fully equipped clean gas BbQ and kitchen with fridge up there too so you can set yourself up for the day/ night. We stayed in the apartment for 3 nights and apart from a walk on the beach and some shopping we hardly ventured out. It's that good you just wanna stay and enjoy!
Warning, the lovely picture of the pool showen at the start of these reviews looks and is wonderful but has zero privacy. All the upper apartments and penthouses look down on you. If you are wanting to stay here then penthouse or nothing if you want complete privacy and luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    40
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
96
135
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Port Douglas a few times and its a fantastic place . these are new apartments and although expensive they do cater for everything and I mean everything , Large comfortable spotless rooms , massive sun bathing areas , own pool , own hot tub . BBQ and cooking area etc . We could not fault the place and will be returning next year . Oh yes sorry one complaint , not that bad but wifi should be free. ,,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just completed an 8 day stay in a 1 BR penthouse apartment, it was a truly amazing stay. The reception staff were great and helped us with any questions we had.

The ultra modern room was amazing!!!

Our own swimming pool and Spa!
Our own laundry with washer & dryer
Great kitchen facilities
Air conditioning in all rooms
So much storage space for clothes, suitcases, etc.
Wifi
Dressing room,
Gorgeous bathroom with spa and tons of storage
King sized bed
Balcony overlooking Macrossan street
Modern furniture etc. etc.

The location is unbelievable, next to the beach and right on Macrossan St (the main street in PD).
If you stay here, you can forget the shuttle buses or cars required for other PD resorts,

Would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found ourselves in Port Douglas unexpectedly and being peak season, were a bit worried about finding accommodation. We ideally wanted an apartment type place so tried Coconut Grove where we stayed a few years previously. The apartment was spectacular, lovely finishings and done to a very high standard. We had a private plunge pool and jaquzzi and a deck that was absolutely massive. It is such a great place and the staff were brilliant. I doubt there is anything better in Port Douglas, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from 8 nights here and our only regret was leaving. We were greeted with a beautiful cheese platter in our room which was a lovely gesture.Wonderfully spacious modern apartment fully equipped kitchen,double fridge with filtered water and ice making facility. Spacious bedrooms, spacious balcony where you can cook on a modern gas BBQ with sink and fridge right at hand. It is located at the beach end of Macrossan street with only a one minute walk to 4 mile beach. Restaurants are plentiful. Staff were friendly and helpful,we will definitely be returning next year.We spent our days walking,swimming in the pool and beach,weather was fantastic 27C every day blue skies couldn't be better... should you choose there are heaps of tours that could fill your stay too many to mention.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved our stay at Coconut Grove. Helpful staff and excellent facilities. Short stroll to both Four Mile Beach and the main street where all the wonderful restaurants and cafes are. Apartments were modern, clean, spacious and well-stocked with everything we needed. A great place for those wanting more space or to self-cater some of your stay. We were surprised with a lovely fruit and cheese platter in our room which we enjoyed with some champagne on the spacious balcony.
Would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

January 2011, my husband and I spent our honeymoon (10 days) At Coconut Grove. We absolutely loved our time and cannot recommend it highly enough.

The rooms and design of the apartment is immaculate. We found the apartment to be very clean and it contained all the necessary utensils and machinery. The pool and BBQ area was lovely, great views, although the pool was freezing.

The complex is situated on Macrossen St, although it is the quiet end of the street. It is only a 2 minute walk from some great restaurants and the marina is a short walk. I found the front desk to be very helpful in arranging and booking activities.

We have been back to Port Douglas since, but sadly we were unable to afford the cost of Coconut Grove again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.