We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find better than this......!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Save Saved
You added Coconut Grove Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WiFi
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You won't find better than this......!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I knew when I booked this was going to be a good choice - but I wasn't prepared for just how good the accommodation was going to be. It was spacious and beautifully appointed with modern, comfortable furnishings/fittings and top-of-the-range Miele appliances.

Sharon checked us in and it was obvious from that moment that nothing would be too much trouble and that our stay would be a most pleasurable one. The location is perfect being just 200 metres from the beach and right next to some of the local shops. It's also right opposite what I reckon is the best local restaurant - Zinc. My only mistake was only booking to stay for 4 nights - a mistake I won't make a second time if I get to visit again!

The only slight disappointment was the pool which is a bit on the small side and maybe not very user-friendly for the young and old as it has no steps that go all the way in. However, this is a very minor point and can't stop me from giving the 5 star rating it truly deserves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
100
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are planning to go to Port Douglas - this is the place to stay! It is just perfect!
We were two couples staying for a long weekend at the Coconut Grove Apartments in Port Douglas. We had one of the top floor apartments with a roof-top outdoor area with our own pool and BBQ!
The apartment is spacious and very stylish outfitted. The bedrooms are just lovely - with en-suite bathrooms.
The staff was helpful and very kind!
The Coconut Grove Apartments are located straight on the main strip of Port Douglas - just a short walk to everything!

Room Tip: Add the extra cost of having the roof-top apartment with your own pool - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I only ever bother writing reviews for experiences worth writing about - either unbelievably good or equally bad. This place was absolutely stunning, beautiful inside and out. The private rooftop pool, bbq and dining area were amazing and the place was immaculately clean (a bit of a pet issue for me). The location was what I would call the best in town - 100m from the beach yet a few hundred metres from the main shops and a 10 minute walk from the marina. The service was also great, as the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Whilst not cheap, it was quite reasonable for the standard you get.

I will definitely be staying there again when I'm next in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Though subject to a few problems, such as incorrect television programming and faulty air conditioning, these issues were quickly rectified by the skilled and helpful staff. My girlfriend and I stayed in a penthouse and we were instantly overcome by the stunning vistas and luxury, let alone the rooftop plunge pool which flows onto the jacuzzi. I highly recommend a romantic night in the jacuzzi with all the lights off looking at the stars. The only downside to this amazing location were the amount of flying insects that seemed to haunt our roof at night.

Room Tip: Though more expensive, penthouse is the way to go, they look over the courtyards of the other apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the other reviews are right! These apartments are beautiful. We are staying in a Penthouse suite - pool on top with an outside BBQ and Fridge, and a huge down stairs area. Huge range of TV, great modern kitchen, L'Occitaine toiletries. Everything is done to a really high quality. The staff were very very helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for a little over a week. We chose to not have the private whirlpool. The apartment was very nicely furnished and very spacious and comfortable. We never actually cooked or grilled, but the kitchen and grill were fully equipped with utensils, pots, pans, etc. It was great to have a washer and dryer too for our extended stay. The apartment was quiet, and the only time we heard other guests was if they were noisy outside on their decks or in their private pools. The only time that was a problem was one night when somebody was outside with a fussy toddler, but that only lasted for a little while.

The office staff was great, helping us choose and book our various activities during the planning stages of our trip as well as booking our transfers to and from the Cairns airport. I exchanged e-mails with both Sharyn and Alicia several months before our trip, and they were both extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at Coconut Grove Apartments was wonderful. We stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath apartment, 3rd floor. Everything was perfect, very clean, lots of towels, well laid out, spacious, lots of space for sitting and relaxing. The feeling was private and quiet, yet a close, short walk to the beach, grocery, restaurants. The personal deck with a gril and a view was a nice extra, as was the full kitchen and landry. Alicia was so, so helpful and kind, assisting us in arranging transportation to and from the airport, recommendations on local restaurants and activities. We would definitely stay at Coconut Grove again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.