We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Grove Apartments to your Saves list
Coconut Grove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We normally stay somewhere more reasonably priced when we visit PD but decided to splash out for our anniversary. We booked a penthouse apartment and it was definitely worth every $.

The apartment was well laid out and spacious. Appliances were high quality - I particularly liked the ice maker! The bathroom was gorgeous, with a deep free standing bath, dimmable lighting and lovely L'Occitaine toiletries. Plenty of towels for the 2 of us, with towels provided for the pool too.

Upstairs was the roof terrace with plunge pool and spa. You can't swim in the pool (maybe kids could do a couple of strokes!) but it was lovely to sit in the pool and look at the view. We could see across to the distant ranges with palm trees rustling around us and parrots circling overhead.
There was a dining table and chairs on the deck and an undercover kitchen area with sink, fridge and BBQ so you didn't have to keep walking downstairs to the kitchen.

The location was good, on the quieter end of Macrossan Street, a few minutes walk from the beach. Zinc restaurant over the road was excellent for dinner one night. They provide parking under the building. My only disappointment was the $10 a day charge for Wi-fi.

Overall a really well thought out and maintained complex.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
116
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is our second time staying here this year. We loved it the first time, and enjoying it just as much this time around. It's like a home away from home. Full kitchen, large entertainment area with private pool and spa. Large spacious living area. Little details like a fruit and cheese platter on arrival. Salt and pepper in the pantry. L'occitane products in the bathroom. There is really nothing we're left wanting for. Good for couples or families. If you have the budget to stay here - I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Coconut Grove over turf week of the solar eclipse. Port D was buzzing and the location was ideal-right in town on Macrossan St.
We watched the eclipse from our private terrace (with pool, spa and BBQ).
The apartment was clean, new and the staff incredibly helpful as we were travelling with a newborn. We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We came up to Port Douglas for a wedding and booked this accommodation on the advice of friends. We were not disappointed. The presentation of the room and the surrounds were first rate, the staff friendly and very helpful. The location is terrific,close to the beach and all the restaurants. If you want a really first rate and relaxing holiday then this is the place. We have booked a longer for next year. Our only gripe is that internet is charged for which disappointed us a little.

Room Tip: There is a really nice pool area in the common area so if you want to save a little money go for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and two kids spent 4 nights at Coconut Grove in late September and could not have been happier with the place. We were in a penthouse suite (the only one without a plunge pool unfortunately, something I felt could have been made clearer to us at the time of booking, as was disappointed with the defensive attitude I got when I highlighted this) that had outstanding views of both the ocean and sunrises as well as the hills and spectacular sunsets. The BBQ area was really handy as we spent a lot of time just relaxing by the spa and cooking up a storm. The only downside was the halogen light wasn't working so it was dark after hours. The rooms were fantastic and the kitchen superbly laid out with all the equipment you need for a stay. The location of the apartment was great being on the main street close to both the shopping/dining district as well as 4 mile beach. All in all Coconut Grove made our first trip to FNQ a memorable affair and one we would highly recommend to anyone considering something special.

Room Tip: The penthouse suites are best for privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinda, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughters and I spent from 23/9 to 29/9 at the Coconut Grove and it was wonderful. The apartment was gorgeous and well planned out. The kitchen and bathrooms were luxurious. There was nothing left out. It is just a perfect location in the community. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. The front desk reception was helpful and friendly. Felicia helped us in a jam and she was great at booking venues and answered every question. Next time to Port Douglas we will be at the Coconut Grove! It was perfect!~!~

Room Tip: Next time we are in a Penthouse or a Terrace room so we have our own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Eight of us went to Port Douglas this month (Oct 2012) and stayed at Coconut Grove for 4 nights. We had a 3 bedroom Penthouse and a 3 bedroom Balcony room. Both apartments had the same inclusions except that the Penthouse had the amazing roof top deck and pool / spa!

The apartments included top appliances, air con (you can control the temp in each room), fans, an impressive large spa bath, massive balcony and comfy couches and chairs.

The rooftop deck was the best thing ever!!! Great views, table for 8 (perfect for us!), 2 x lounges, a large couch and two chairs. The pool was fantastic however it was the only small negative we had with the place. Every day was 30 degrees and the pool was never refreshingly cool. It was always a little warmer than we had hoped it could be. On the other hand one evening we wanted to get in the spa and it was too cold, it would be good to be able to control the temp of the pool/spa.

The ladies at reception were super lovely and always so helpful. They always had friendly welcoming smiles on their faces and were great when booking trips out to the reef or requesting a late checkout.

Location wise, this place is tops. A short walk to all the key places.

you must check out Zinc for dinner. It's just across the road from CG and also head up to Nautilus, that place is stunning!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra $$ and go the penthouse...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.