We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Holiday Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Save Saved
You added Coconut Grove Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free WiFi
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Holiday Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here in early February with my husband and 1yo daughter - Two Bedroom Terrace with Pool
Absolutely loved everything about this place
We have stayed in Port Douglas many time previously - however this was the most comfortable stay
The apartment are amazing and provide you with comfort and space - perfect for a family!
The private pool is totally awesome and the location is superb
We cannot wait to return to Port Douglas and stay here again
The staff are all very friendly and courteous
The complimentary fruit and cheese platter in our fridge was a really nice touch
Traveling with a toddler we didn't have the luxury option to eat out every night.. which didnt bother us as we cranked up the bbq in our patio and cooked some amazing fresh fish and enjoyed dinner outside near our pool
Totally worth every cent
.....Coconut Grove cant wait until we meet again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
100
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If your looking for Luxury accommodation in Port Douglas, Coconut Grove is the place to go. My husband and I stayed for 7 nights in the 1 bedroom penthouse and loved every part of it. The staff we're delightful and very helpful. Very clean and spacious. The private plunge pool and spa up stairs was beautiful, especially in the evening with the night lights on.
What you see is what you get. The apartments is exactly as you see it on the website. They are perfectly located on the main strip of Port Douglas, far enough from the center of town to provide peace and quiet but close enough that all you could want is but a short walk away.
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband booked this apartment for a surprise anniversary long weekend away and neither of us have been disappointed.

He booked us into one of their penthouse apartments which is huge. Great views from the living room & master bedroom & even better views from the rooftop entertaining area where we have a private plunge pool, spa & BBQ area.

The service has been wonderful. Reception were very helpful in booking our reef day trip giving us a very unbiased opinion of different tour operators. Rooms are not cleaned daily but that doesn't bother us.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for romantic get away but also for families. Plenty of room for everyone. Will definitely be bringing our kids back here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a penthouse apartment. Rained for the whole time we were there but hey, this is the wet season.

The apartment was beyond our expectations, very modern, upmarket and immaculate. The top floor, while we did not get to use it fully, would be it's own holiday area in fair weather.

The weather did not deter, though. The ambience, the first class check in and out service, and the convenient location made it a perfect location. We walked out the front door and across the road on our first night, straight into one of Port's best restaurants.

The complimentary fruit and cheese platter in our fridge was excellent, little touches like these make a big impression. As did the friendly staff on the front desk.

We highly recommend this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: Penthouse is the way to go. Don't worry about the weather, the wet season just adds another won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerang Gerung, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is the 2nd year in a row we have stayed in a Terrace Apartment at Coconut Grove and we will certainly be returning. This year we had our 10 month old grand daughter staying with us along with her parents in a 3 bedroom apartment. We have had another wonderful relaxing holiday with everything you require - another appealing aspect of this resort is the close proximity to the main street. Everything is within a nice walk's range. The staff are wonderful and tended to our every need. The apartments are extremely clean and well fitted out, very comfortable bedding and a port a cot was provided for the baby. We certainly would never hesitate to recommend these Apartments to all who are after a very relaxing break. See you next year Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

this is a relatively new complex in the famous Maccrossan street where all the best restaurants and action is to be had. we stayed in a modern terrace apartment which had its own plunge pool superb terrace deck and bbq area , if you want to entertain or just stay in and cook a shrimp on the barbie it is delightful. the beds comfortable the decor trendy and the apartment kept very clean. there are lovely pools outside the apartments door on the 2nd floor so is good for kids as well. this is a very chich complex and is within 2 minutes walk to the netted beach and the same of fine eateries.Would highly recommend to anyone going to Port Douglas to make this their port of call

Room Tip: terrace apartments offer plenty of space ,pprivate plunge pool and you get great views to what is ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I concur with all the other 5 start raters. Coconut Grove has it all (all bar a gym, but there is a one just across the street). The apartment is top-class, very clean, quiet and well situated being walking distance from everywhere you need to be. I noticed the the photos of the roof terrace in the particulars also show comfortable chairs and a couch which we didn't have in our roof terrace. Shame because we would have used them, but maybe they were off being repaired or something!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.