We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty little Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortillas Cocina Mexicana

Tortillas Cocina Mexicana
43 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
(07) 4099 4199
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tortillas is a very popular small restaurant offering a range of fresh authentic Cali/Mex cuisine, accompanied with great modern mex/latin music. Dining extends out onto the footpath giving Tortillas a really tropical feel. Reservations are recommended for dinner (Mon to Sat). Tortillas is closed on Sundays. Children are catered for with their own menu selection to choose from together with a number of suitable choices from the main menu. Tortillas has the largest range of chile sauces in Far North Queensland for sale, some of which can be sampled with meals.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty little Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We ate here last week and the food was good. Not the best Mexican ever but still good quality with reasonable portions. The chilli con carne was lovely as were the cocktails.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    111
    39
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good food, one of the best Mexican restaurants I've ever been to. Shame we can't come here more often as we live in Perth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Despite having a sign out the front of his store saying he opened at 12, the owner rudely advised at 12:15 the store was not open until dinner. That may well be the case, but either update your sign or ditch the rude attitude. Happy to take my money elsewhere and not come back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonPerrin, Owner at Tortillas Cocina Mexicana, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Really! You're on holiday - enjoy it. Everytime you may not get your way are you really going to feel the need to blog it? This is a site for food reviews not petty comments - please use this site as I'm sure it was intended. The day in question was a public holiday - aren't we entitled to 1/2 a day off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Mexicano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The beef was so tender and the housemade guacamole is to die for, i could have just eaten that alone!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great casual family dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The margaritas were tasty, the food hot, spicy and plenty of it.

Great venue for families with fussy kids - even fussy kids will eat tacos right?

Friendly service, reasonable prices and fast turn over on a busy night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortillas Cocina Mexicana also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Tortillas Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortillas Cocina Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.