We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortillas Cocina Mexicana

Tortillas Cocina Mexicana
43 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
(07) 4099 4199
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 97 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tortillas is a very popular small restaurant offering a range of fresh authentic Cali/Mex cuisine, accompanied with great modern mex/latin music. Dining extends out onto the footpath giving Tortillas a really tropical feel. Reservations are recommended for dinner (Mon to Sat). Tortillas is closed on Sundays. Children are catered for with their own menu selection to choose from together with a number of suitable choices from the main menu. Tortillas has the largest range of chile sauces in Far North Queensland for sale, some of which can be sampled with meals.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I frequented this restaurant several times during our 3 week stay in Port Douglas. Don't let the negative reviews put you off! Whilst it may not to be everyone's taste, we absolutely adored this little place and went so often they knew our names and orders by the end of our stay in PD! The portions were excellent and were great value compared to the other restaurants. We loved getting a big jug of sangria and watching the world go by sat outside on the buzzing Macrossan Street. Would return to PD again just to have another plate of their sinful nachos! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    111
    39
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sorry, this is not Mexican!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although we heard the owner's story and respect his efforts, this food was a disappointment. It might have helped if he had spent time in Mexico, had a Mexican wife or some experience in a real Mexican restaurant. Admittedly, good ingredients are hard to come by so far from Mexico, like chiles to make rellenos. But really, a taco is pretty simple and salsa is easy to make at home! No beans? What makes this Mexican? Instead of going on and on, read Tony S's review. Ours cost way over $100 for three and was not fit to eat. I think with a little imagination, a home garden and a good cookbook, this restaurant could be greatly improved.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Loved the food, I went back again on my short trip. Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Margaritas and great service.

Loved everything...from the tables to the cute plates.

Food was awesome. Best Mexican I've eaten. Would come back to Port Douglas just for this Mexican!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Mexican?Not!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very disappointing Since when is carrot the main ingredient in mexican food?Hello!! Muriel!!Was really looking forward to eating here as being vegetarian you can't normally go wrong with mexican -until now. Worst dining experience in Port Douglas

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican Meal of my Life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I’ve eaten a lot of Mexican food. It is often hard to find really good Mexican outside of the USA or Mexico, but this took the cake. Simply Terrible! We ordered Vegetarian nachos, a taco, and a veg chimmichanga. The nachos consisted of a pile of corn chips on top of a mixture of diced boiled carrots and a little bit of mashed potato… No beans, no spice, hardly any tomato sauce and no sour cream or guacamole. It was dry, bland and we couldn’t finish it.

The taco wasn’t any better.

We decided to take the chimmichanga away however they refused to box it. Apparently they do takeaway but not doggy bags, if you can figure that. We took it anyway wrapped in a napkin and when back at home we found that it too consisted of boiled carrots and mashed potato, wrapped in greasy puff pastry.

This is NOT Mexican food. I would have been disappointed if Id paid $20 in a bad suburban cafe for this meal however the bill for 2 mains, an entree and 2 drinks came to nearly $120. How they can charge over $30 per main for what can only be described as awful food astounds me.

There are plenty of good restaurants in Port Douglas so I would suggest anyone visiting try somewhere else. Tortillas is simply terrible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortillas Cocina Mexicana also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Tortillas Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortillas Cocina Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.