We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's young, it's loud, it's fun & the foods tasty too... & we r not young!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Ant Cantina

Green Ant Cantina
bunda st, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 428 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's young, it's loud, it's fun & the foods tasty too... & we r not young!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've been recommended to this place over the years but hadn't made it there. This year we did and we are glad we did. The Fish Bowl Margarita is brilliant. Maybe the fact that it is 4 nips of spirit has something to do with the food tasting good, but I don't think so. We just munched our way through the entrees and then had 1 main as well. It's an inexpensive night of good food and fun music. What's not to like - unless of course you were expecting tablecloths! Oh, yeah, the Ginger Beer is really good too.
Definitely a place to return to in future visits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved the local feel, friendly banter and nightly specials. Great Ginger Beer!
The food wasn't cheap, but the servings were huge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place is Cantabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The super cool vibe from this little out of the way cantina in the heart of cairns makes it a great start to any night out, Love grabbing the nachos and one of the fine mexican beers to start my night right!!!
Looking forward to this years Dia de Los Muertos: Day of the Dead

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“Awesome margaritas and really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Some say the Green Ant has the best margaritas in Cairns, and that's certainly true. But I'd go further than that. In fact, I'm not sure I've ever had a better one, and I lived in Southern California for 5 years. Excellent food, too-- well above the standard "Mexican" fare. It's not cheap, but neither is much else in Australia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best place in Cairns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The sizzeling fajitas must be the best Mexican meal you can get anywhere in the world and staff are extremely friendly. I love the Green Ant and will definitely go back the next time I'm in Cairns.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Ant Cantina also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Green Ant Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Ant Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.