We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hasn't disappointed yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant

Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant
Corner of Lake & Gatton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 40514622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kuranda, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hasn't disappointed yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had the good fortune to discover Bayleaf when it first opened and must have been 20+ times, for lunch, for dinner, with friends, with family and to entertain work colleagues. It has never disappointed and dinner last night with the family once again left me wanting more (why has it taken so long to discover the coconut ice cream?). Great flavours, fresh local produce and though the staff seem to change all the time, consistent service. It isn't in the most salubrious of locations, overlooked by the hospital on the outskirts of town, but the ambience once inside soon transports you from those surrounds. Bayleaf doesn't try for pretence, just consistency and good food done well. Congrats to the team over the years… my only gripe is the kids menu. Chips, nuggets .. all the usual fare that sadly seems to be acceptable for children these days. And a few daily specials wouldn't go astray for us regulars.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    142
    39
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We tried the 'rijsttafel wine match' meal which was excellent, if a bit too much food for us to eat. All the individual dishes were very tasty, well cooked and presented. Service was excellent and we thought the value for money was reasonable. Would go back if in Cairnes again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service but bland food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Went here for dinner with my husband with our friend on Saturday night. Had their signature dish babi guling. Roast pork with yellow rice. The pork was cook well but it was tasteless. It's lcould do with some herb and marinating. It tasted like roast pork that you can get at carvery at a shopping mall food court. My husband try to improve the taste by pouring on soy sauce and the special sauce provided but even the sauce it self was completely tasteless. We also had tuna salad that was pretty band too. The don't you any spices or fresh herbs that would certainly help the dishes. Presentations. Was great but that's about all. Would be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cairns BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Consistantly amazing food and equally good service! Genuine Balinese food cooked by native Balinese chefs and the best wine menu you'll find at almost any restaurant. Book early for weekends as they book out quickly with throngs of loyal locals drawn back again and again. The Ican Bali spicy fish dish is a must or on Fri/Sat try the suckling pig.. WOW!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Bay Leaf is a fantastic Bali restaurant!

Very nice surroundings befitting a Bali eatery and absolutely beaut food. The staff were friendly and provided top service. We would definitely come again.

I recommend you consider the Suckling Pork here, it's delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayleaf Balinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.