We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citysider Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added Citysider Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citysider Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   17A Upward Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was really impressed with the apartment. 2 big bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities in the big bathroom, big lounge area & a big balcony overlooking lovely gardens.
The location is about 10 minutes from the town centre. We didn't have a car but buses are frequent right outside the apartments & taxis are good, both quite reasonable prices.
The train line to Kuranda is close to the hotel but it only runs about twice a day so noise not a problem.
I couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    61
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our accommodation was just about perfect. Great location - close enough to city so we could walk to main shopping centre (10 mins), beach etc. but far enough to be quiet and peaceful. (Nice coffee shop and cafe 1 mins walk away.) Lovely apartment, clean, light, comfy beds, balcony, well equipped kitchen, lovely shower! The whole complex was surrounded with beautiful, lush, green, tropical plants. The pool/bbq area was very relaxing. Amanda and Peter were the perfect hosts, friendly, helpful, informative and could not do enough for us. Amanda checked the dubious weather, and advised the best day to travel to the Reef and then booked our tour - so easy. We had a very relaxing enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Citysider...Well what can we say. What a challenge these two Managers have set themselves for. Coming out to Australia, leaving their beloved South Africa for a different start in life and taking on this task to manage a fairly large establishment. All they wanted is for us to have a nice quiet stay and constantly checking back with to see if everything was in place. Can't speak of the place highly enough. Rhys and Sarah

Room Tip: Get one closer, above the reception. Eventhough it wasn't a problem for us being in the main sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was a wonderful complex to stay for our 5 days in Cairns, helpful staff and only a short walk to town or a $5 taxi fare. Very clean and tidy and a great barbeque area that we used. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and spacious, a good kitchen with all the facilities that you need when you are holidays. Would recommend to anyone wanting a good priced and good quality apartment for a stay to at the Citysider Apartments

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Found 2BR unit roomy, clean and comfortable on arrival and it had everything we needed for a reasonable price. Attractive gardens and pool area. Close to central Cairns and quiet at night but If you need to sleep during the day the noise from the few tourist trains that run during the day could be a nuisance. We received a friendly welcome at reception and were given useful info on tours, nearby facilities etc. They can also book many tours for you. Undercover parking for our rental car was close to our unit which was appreciated when it rained heavily. Our family of 3 all enjoyed our 6 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We found out stay at Citysider to be excellent, our 2 bed unit self contained was of an excellent standard and good value for money. It was so great to have everything we needed for our stay including our own laundry and dishwasher, lovely spacious rooms and all modern and tastefully decorated. Air conditioning was fabulous and a great relief from the heat as was the lovely pool. Would stay again definitely and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for the positive feedback! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooraka, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I Enjoyed the 2Br apartment - holiday in cairns.
It is in a good location, Nice and Clean, Helpfully and Friendly
Reception. Good place for families and friends.
I will come back to this place again.
I give 4 Stars for the place.

Room Tip: All rooms had aircond
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citysider, Manager at Citysider Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for the good review! We look forward to welcoming you back someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citysider Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citysider Holiday Apartments

Address: 17A Upward Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citysider Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan, modern city of Cairns is set in the heart of Tropical North Queensland, Australia. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, pristine World Heritage Rainforest, the scenic waterfalls of the Atherton Tablelands and an abundance of sun soaked beaches and islands. Staying at The Citysider Cairns Holiday Apartments with its Resort Facilities less than 10 minutes from the airport, casino and hundreds of shops, restaurants and cafes, is all about affordability, accessibility, comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Citysider Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citysider Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.