We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rattle N Hum

Rattle N Hum
67 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+6140514995
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 410 restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Buderim
1 review
“Good food but terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We had to watch our food sit on the front bench for 5 minutes while the staff played with blu-tac before it was brought to us. The food was excellent however the 3 staff that we encountered we all incredibly rude and didn't even apologies for serving is cold food

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    73
    105
    48
    34
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service and disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I feel I have to preface this by saying I mostly give positive reviews and I'm pretty easy to please; HOWEVER, I recently had what I would say is one of the worst experiences I have ever had in a restaurant.

To begin with, we were treated poorly the minute we stepped in the door. There was no greeter, so we were unsure whether we were supposed to take our own table or be directed somewhere. We tried to speak to a waitress, but several looked straight through us and just walked straight past as if we didn't exist. Finally we were told we could choose any table by a very nice waitress, but unfortunately we didn't get to deal with her again.

We ordered our food at 6:20 (not sure if this is permanent or temporary but if you order dinner before 7 you get 20% off your food bill). There was no problem here, and the correct discount was applied. My partner ordered a chicken schnitzel and I ordered a steak. She received her meal about 15 minutes later. I wasn't so lucky, waiting until 7:05 for my dinner. I wouldn't have a problem with a 5 or 10 minute difference between the arrival of our meals, but a half hour difference is unacceptable.

As for the food itself: no problem with the chicken schnitzel. A nice big piece of chicken and good chips. The steak was awful. While it was a decent size and cooked correctly, it was mostly sinew and fat. Very disappointing to wait so long and receive an almost inedible meal. I didn't complain because I just wanted to eat and get out of there, but in hindsight I wish I had.

To top off the night, a waitress came to clear our table, leant over us without a word and snatched our glasses and stomped off. Very strange - I wonder how they would have treated us if we'd complained.

This is not the first time I have heard of the waitresses at Rattle N Hum being rude to customers, and after experiencing it myself (as well as a sub-par meal), I certainly will not be returning to Rattle N Hum again. Management need to seriously consider retraining their staff, or replacing them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lazy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I tried this on my first night in cairns, after a long days travel. Being expected to pay up front for a beer was bad enough, but I had to then remind the waitress that I'd ordered it. You order your food at the bar and have to go and get it once it is ready, this means you run the risk of losing your table if you're on your own. The steak I had was chewy and poor. Good location though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

2 weeks ago I dined at Rattle & Hum for lunch. Firstly, the lcoation is terrific - right in the heart of Cairns. The lunch selection was varied - but I opted for the Chicken parmigana with chips & Salad for a reasonable $16. Nothing wrong with the portion size and presentation. All tasted good and friendly service and would definitely go back again for lunch or dinner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went here for a meal. I had a salad which was nice but the chicken tasted like it was cooked days ago, like eating rubber! The drinks are a bargain during happy hour. The staff are very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattle N Hum also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Rattle N Hum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattle N Hum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.