We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Cucina

Piccolo Cucina
17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
0740515137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 410 restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Truly amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I was greeted with friendly smiles, it has a very family atmosphere, all the staff were happy to explain the menu. The food was a taste sensation, by far the best Italian cuisine I have ever had in the far north. Dining at piccolo cucina was a pleasure and I will be recommending it to my friends and family, and will be returning myself very soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    70
    31
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great food, awkward service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Being from an European background, I totally loved the food! it tastes like Italy, we had brushetta to start and then pasta and arracini balls, was really really yummy! Love the new venue too...
Saying that, not sure whether we will go back as the service was awkward and made us feel very uncomfortable
The waitress serving us, I think the owner's daughter? was rude or maybe she was having a bad day?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never fails to satisfy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Love the new venue and as always the food was perfect. Something for everyone on the menu and deserts to die for! Easily our favourite restaurant. Staff are always very helpful and can explain each dish without omission! They also offer suggestions to suit dietary requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crab Lasagne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Best in Cairns, and when available the pumpkin gnocchi or order in advance. nice setting nice family staff. Always enjoyed never had a bad meal

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“top food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

returned to piccolo after 8 months to their new location......larger premises with a better outlook both indoors and outdoors.......the mostly home prepared food was as excellent as ever...good staff and service.....the owner knows his business and it shows.....great favorite with the cairns locals......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Cucina also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Piccolo Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.