We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful taste orgasm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ochre Restaurant

Ochre Restaurant
43 Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
07 40510100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Celebrating its 15th birthday in March 2009, Ochre Restaurant is a local dining institution. Imaginative native food including emu, kangaroo and crocodile as well as a good sampling of Pacific rim-inspired dishes can be found here. An excellent wine list and efficient service. Ochre Restaurant makes dining out a sensory adventure.
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A beautiful taste orgasm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My mum asked me, after sharing some starters and desserts tonight to celebrate her pending 78th birthday, if there was such thing as a food orgasm!! The taste sensations of the dishes we shared are so unique to Nth Qld that I will be looking for similar produce from now on. We were really impressed with the service and all round. Mum is from South Australia where local produce is very different - we both recommend this restaurant to visitors and locals

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    125
    42
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snug, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the lovely table in the window to the beautiful dessert wine this was a fantastic night out for two avid foodies. Everythine we ate was superb, and I would love the recipe for the red prawn curry on the seafood platter. Catered for gluten free without even rolling their eyes! Happy to answer any questions, the wait staff were friendly and attentive. One small point would be to ensure that new wait staff know the menu thoroughly. Would come again in a heartbeat, if it weren't for the day's flying to get to you. Fancy moving to Hobart?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The venue is sweet and small but very clean and well decorated, and the food is absolutely out of this world. I ordered the wallaby whilst my partner order the beef tenderloin, both were fantastic, portions looked small however it is deceiving as we struggled to finish both our dishes. The staff are friendly and have so much knowledge on the wines and the food which is extremely impressive. I could have not asked for a better night. Thank you ochre.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geroge4982
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Came here for lunch with a friend after wanting to try it for months, and although it was alright it did not live up to it's reputation. I was expecting a lot more from the food. For starters I had a dozen oysters (3 different styles) which were amazing and my friend had the pork belly and scallops which she raved about. After that though I had a seafood platter and she had a game platter and both left a bit to be desired. Her meat was cold and flavorless while my platter was average. The service was good. I will give it another try at some point on hopes it was an off day in the kitchen but won't be recommending it as much as I did before giving it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best restaurant we did in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice place. Delicious food for and lovely staff and service. They let us taste between different wines All o choose which on we prefer, very nice ! Recommended if you come here and can afford it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ochre Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Ochre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ochre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.