We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Handy Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor in Cairns

Save Saved
You added Grosvenor in Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grosvenor in Cairns
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Mandurah, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Handy Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I were very happy we stayed here. The 1 bed apartment was large , clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly and very helpful and booking tours was no problem. There are grocery and liquor and fast food stores close by and a tavern over the road . Buses also are close but at $7 to $8 by taxi to town, taxi is great. The pool is a nice spot to come back to after a day out.

Room Tip: Make a booking yourself by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Steven - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

Another 5/5 rating and we are on a roll! Our location is good, just far enough out of the center of town to be away from all the night time nolise but still close enough to be able to walk there or catch a bus or a taxi .... and shops, restaurants and a supermarket are all within 250 meters.

The room tip "make a booking yourself by phone" is a good tip as the cheapest price will ALWAYS be obtained from us directly! (by phone or email) - Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
37
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Brian was an excellent host. He was always available when we required assistance. The apartment was clean, organized and very convenient in terms of location. We had a one-bedroom apartment which was spacious and all fixtures were in good order. We found there was no need for a car as the bus stopped at the corner of the street. We would recommend the Grosvenor as a place to stay while visiting Cairns.

Wendy and Trevor

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Wendy - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Grosvenor in Cairns. A "5 out of 5" rating is always appreciated by not only Anne and I but all of our staff.

Most of guests find that they do not need a car unless they want to go on a few "self drive day trips", as the bus that goes into the center of town is only 100 meters away, a taxi to the Esplanade costs about $9 or it is just a peacefull 20 to 30 minute walk.

The apartment are large and well fitted out and we are adding additional items all the time. We are presently putting Rice Cookers and Halogen bench top ovens in the apartments so that guests can have a complete choice of what and how to cook if they choose to eat in for a couple of nights.

Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The friendly and informative welcome from the staff at the Grosvenor was outstanding. We were advised of all the local eateries and shops that were within an easy walk with recommendations given of all the tourist areas too. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. The block out blinds were excellent, allowing a good solid sleep. We could not speak highly enough of this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Vivien - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review re your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cairns and that your accommodation met all of your expectations, including being able to get a good nights sleep - Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

To start, Brian was an accommodating and personable host. He was always available when we required assistance.

The facility was clean, organized and convenient in terms of location. The room was beyond spacious and all fixtures were in good order.

We willingly recommend the Grovesner to persons visiting Cairns


Kevin and Barbara Duguay

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Kevin - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, it is appreciated.

"Beyond spacious" is probably a bit over the top but the apartments are very big so there is plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Anne and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to see you back thius way again soon - Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We spent 5 perfect days in Cairns at the Grosvenor, as a couple. The studio is perfect for a short stay, very comfy, quiet and clean, and ideally situated. But most of all, the staff is absolutely nice and awesome! Special thanks for Brian and Anne, who have been very helpful and available. We arrived late on a Sunday night and it hasn't been a problem, we asked them plenty of help and they've always been there for us...and they even sent us back some personal mail arrived too late after we left Cairns, at their own expense. In a nutshell, they are perfect! The Grosvenor is a home away from home and I absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay a few days in Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Aelya - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Guest feedback is an important tool that allows us to gauge how well we are meeting the expectations of our guests. While a 1 bedroom apartment is larger and a bit more comfortable (and with a full kitchen), a Studio is chosen by a lot of guests when they are only staying a few nights. Our housekeepers work very hard to ensure all rooms are spotless and I have passed your comments onto them (and now they want a pay rise!).

Posting back your late mail was no problem at all, we were glad to be able to track you down and send it off to you before you left Australia - Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My parents and I have just spent 5 nights at the Grosvenor. We couldn't have asked for more. There is ample space in the apartments with excellent kitchen facilities. They are spotlessly clean, with fresh towels as needed. The area is very quiet and only a short stroll from the esplanade, excellent restaurants and supermarket. Anne and Brian have been very helpful advising us on the best excursions and local knowledge. We would stay there again when we next visit Carins.

Room Tip: Our room over looked the main road and that was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Elizabeth - Thank you for taking the time to leeave a review of your recent stay with us. Your comments re how clean the apartment was has been passed onto our housekeeping staff (who do a really great job). We look forward to having you stay with us again - Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just come back from spending 5 nights at the Grosvenor and had a very relaxing time. We had a studio and a one bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door and it made a spacious two bedroom/two bathroom apartment which was comfortable enough for myself, my husband and my parents. Nice pool area with a BBQ which we used for a sausage sizzle one night. Good location too - not too far to walk into town or less than $10 for a taxi from the Esplanade and also lots of eating places nearby. Very helpful owners too - it wasn't a problem when we had to add an extra night because our flights changed and lots of info regarding the local area given at check in.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Owner at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Jane, thank you for your review and your kind comments. Anne and i are happy you and your parents enjoyed your stay so much. We think the location of the Grosvenor is just about ideal; not in the city center (and so away from all the nightclub and nighttime noise) but slose enough to be only a few minutes away from everything - Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities) are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor in Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.