We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor in Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor in Cairns to your Saves list
Grosvenor in Cairns
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in studio room. Very spacious and very clean. Continental breakfast presentation in a basket was a lovely touch. Crockery and cutlery for two was supplied in the room. Foxtel was good to have also. The pool is magnificent with a spa. BBQ available was really good in an undercover area. Quiet and tranquil setting. Pleasant to spend a holiday at. Regular buses are around the corner,excellent service into Cairns CBD. Many eateries in close proximity with supermarket close by also. All staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend to people I know and would stay again next time we visit Cairns.

Room Tip: Studio room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback is important to Anne and I, whether it be good or the occasional comment. We learn from it all.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us - Cairns is a wonderful City to visit on holiday and we do our best to ensure your stay is as comfortable and stress free as possible.

We would love to see you back at the Grosvenor again one day

Brian & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
40
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne (Aus)
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here for a short business trip 1 week ago, and had been here before. Nothing is too difficult for the managers, and they must be complimented in making my stay very enjoyable! Rooms are well kept, location is good, and I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask Brian and Anne to give you their best: they will look after you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Jacques,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always look forward to welcoming return guests and you were no exception.

We have put a lot of work into the rooms over the last 18 months (complete re-paint, new curtains, new bed coverings, new living room furniture in apartments and new digital flat screen LCD TV's) so it is always nice to receive compliments on how good the complex and the apartments look.

'Customer Service' is not just a "corporate phrase" to Anne and I; it comes with the territory of managing a holiday 7 short term apartment complex and we work hard to try to meet every guests expectations in relation to their treatment and comfort while they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First impressions were very impressive and continued until the time we left. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. All staff were very attentive and helpful, from helping with suggestions on what to see, and when was the best time to see, booking attractions, taxi's, suggestions on where to eat, directions etc. Would certainly love to have stayed longer and would definately recommend and go again. Thanks Anne and Brian and staff at Grosvenor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, General Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Patricia - thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Anne and I are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed our "little chats" about what you had been out doing every day and then planning what might be good for you to do the next day. One thing that Cairns does not lack is plenty of choice of activities for those on holiday.

We have been on most of the tours we recommend and are only too happy to provide you with all the advice and assistance that you may need in making just the right choice for you.

We look forward to you staying with us again one day.

Anne & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We probably had the best unit available, roomy, self contained, and a balcony overlooking the pool. Our 5 day stay was great with convenient local bus into Cairns CBD, food store around the corner, and nothing a problem for the staff. Venue is older style, larger rooms, very clean, good service and happy helpful staff.

Room Tip: Venue was quiet, out of the Central business area. Our self contained unit was great, all necessary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Marilyn,

It's nice to hear from you. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Anne and I are glad your stay was enjoyable and that you liked your apartment. Grosvenor in Cairns was built in 1997 so the whole complex is only 16 years old. We have just undertaken a complete re-paint of every apartment which we hope to complete by January 2013. The apartments we have painted to date even better than before.

We take great pride in presenting very clean, comfortable and spacious apartment accommodation to our guests and your comments are much appreciated.

Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was so disappointed in our experience after reading such good reviews in TripAdvisor that I wondered if I had booked the wrong hotel. Perhaps the Grosvenor is great for people staying several days but for "one-nighters" the experience was not good. The decor of our room was tired and the view non-existent. It wasn't a great surprise that the TV remote and one of the bed lamps were not working. It may sound like a trivial complaint but isn't the whole point of a studio room being able to watch television in bed? Reception closes at 7 and we would be hard pressed to describe the staff as really helpful at other times. It is a long walk to the main restaurant area and the room price didn't seem to reflect this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Anne and I are sorry you found your stay at the Grosvenor "disappointing"; we work hard to ensure that the stay of every guest is as comfortable as possible and as can be seen by nearly all other reviews on TripAdvisor, we are constantly complimented on our assistance to our guests (which we appreciate very much).
Grosvenor is primarily a Holiday and short term apartment complex and our standard accommodation is either a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment. A studio is the second bedroom of a 2 bedroom apartment but can be locked off and booked on its own as it suits some guests because the rates are cheaper.
Reception does close at 7 pm (we open at 7 am) but it is usual for reception to still be open until sometime between 7.30 pm and 8pm. We live on-site and are always contactable at all other times via the information available in the room compendium. Unfortunately batteries do go flat and light bulbs stop working at times; if we had been contacted we would have rectified the situation straight away, even after hours.
Our complex is not situated in the centre of the town (which most guests like) and we endeavour to make that clear to prospective guests, however there are two restaurants, the Cock & Bull Hotel and a number of food outlets all within 250 metres. The price of a room for only 1 night is not tied to our location but is more reflective of the fact that all cleaning and associated costs for that room are absorbed into the 1 night tariff rather than being able to be shared across 3 or 4 nights (or more).
Again, please accept our apologies for your experience not being all it should have been. Please feel free to stay with us again (perhaps for longer next time in a 1 bedroom apartment) and we will endeavour to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here with my daughter for 7 nights and overall impressions were good. Brian and Anne were very helpful, even before we arrived they had organised some trips for us, and were available throughout the day for advice etc. Convenient for basic shopping needs and also for the bus stop to and from the City. Easy to walk into the City in about 20 minutes or so which we did most of the time as you can quickly get to the boardwalk that takes you along by the Ocean. If you want to be in the thick of the action, then maybe not the best place to stay, but if you are happy to be out of main tourist area this is a good choice. The one bed apartment was configured as a twin for us and had a comfortable seating area, dining area and well equipped Kitchen. Only negative would be the washer/dryer which was a bit old and seemed to make the clothes wetter on the drying cycle!! I would consider staying here again if I return to Cairns

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of Grosvenor in Cairns. As much as is possible Anne and I try to ensure all of our guests are as comfortable as possible in our apartments and that we are always available to provide any assistance needed, whether it be changing a blown light bulb or providing information on tours and booking them in advance.
We are in the middle of our yearly service program on all of the washer/dryer units in the apartments. They get a decent workout throughout the year and things like heating elements and water pumps do break down occasionally and can't be fixed immediately. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by you washer/dryer not working correctly; hopefully you were able to get some change from reception and use the clothes washer and dryer in the guest laundry without too much trouble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having been to Cairns before, my partner and I found the Grosvenor after a few terrible experiences of other accommodation in Cairns, we completely fell in love with location, the room, the value and the staff. We will not book anywhere else from now on.
The location is perfect a short walk and you reach the Esplanade, and a 10-15 minute walk from there you reach the main stretch where the lagoon is and good restaurants, and from there you are in the CBD. Your are also only a short walk to Cairns Central, the main shopping centre in the city. Across the road from the complex is a bottle shop, IGA, Night Owl, Pizza Ht and a few other eateries. There is a bus stop just out side that takes you on a short trip to the beaches. The views from the apartments are lovely, the rolling hills on the out skirts of Cairns.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was light, spacious, spotless and fully equipped with everything you would need. The whole apartment was air-conditioned and decorated to a high standard. Even though is was quite full when we stayed, you would never believe it, lovely and quiet. The value is amazing!
The complex itself has nice communal area where you can sit have a drink and a BBQ, we often found guests to talk to. It has lovely solar heated swimming pool with sun loungers, the communal areas are cleaned daily and kept clean, it is nice for somewhere to take so much pride.
The owners, Anne and Brian, were so friendly and accommodating, assisting us with tour information and us choosing the right tour for us, which you you don't get if you to one f the travel agent in the city. They have done alot of the tours themselves, which you would expect for someone selling you a tour. They were always happy and friendly and asked how your day had been.
I do not have any complaint about this place, our trip was enjoyable and memorable and we would definitely stay again and advise any travellers to stay here.

Room Tip: One bedrooms are fantastic, they give you the extra space and a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian099, Manager at Grosvenor in Cairns, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear George S93 - Thank you for your review and your kind comments; Anne and I try to make sure the stay of every guest is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are proud of Grosvenor in Cairns as a holiday apartment complex but are continually working hard to ensure the standard of the apartments and the facilities in general are 'improved' upon year after year. Over the last 12 months we have replaced all of the older style cane living room furniture, all of the old TV's and all of the curtains in every apartment. We are now embarking upon a complete re-paint of every apartment and we hope to have that all completed by early 2013. We look forward to your return to Cairns sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor in Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor in Cairns

Address: 186 McLeod Street | Corner Grove Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor in Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor in Cairns is the perfect venue for your holiday or business trip to Cairns in Tropical North Queensland. Affordable, spacious, clean, comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom, fully self contained holiday apartments set in a tropical garden setting complete with solar heated pool/spa. Studios (no cooking facilities) are also available. The resident on-site managers will provide every assistance from booking tours to finding a good restaurant. NEW- WiFi internet access is now totally FREE in all apartments and outside areas. The 24 hour a day - 7 days a week gym / fitness center located only 200 meters away is also now totally FREE for all of our guests to use during their stay. Resdtaurants, Hotel, Supermarket, Bottle Shop, Take Away (Pizza, Fish & Chips, Chinese, Thai, Kebabs) all within 250 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grosvenor in Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor in Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.