We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was left locked out for half an hour.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Global Backpackers Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Global Backpackers Central to your Saves list
Global Backpackers Central
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was left locked out for half an hour.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm giving the place a 3, purely for the fact it's clean, good central location and pretty good value on the "Buy 3 nights get the 4th free". But the fact that the night hate has been shut twice on me in two nights is ridiculous. There is no number on the door to call for someone to let you in and I was sat there for twenty minutes in the hope someone would come out the other side. The social area is closed at 9pm -- ridiculous. And the kitchen isn't open until 10am and that's if it's been cleaned before that. If it hasn't been you have to wait until their done. Which is crazy when they hire night staff anyway. You have to hire crockery to eat (which is so inconvenient) and that constitutes of plastic plate, bowl and cup. You'll need asbestos hands if you like hot drinks because it's just a picnic style plastic cup on offer! I won't be extending my stay, not be recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciara B, General Manager at Global Backpackers Central, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with our hostel. I apologise that you were locked out during the night, for security we close the night gate between 10pm and 11pm. Your room key gets you back through the door and into the hostel which is why we recommend that everyone takes their key with them when leaving their room. In case of any issues we have the Night Manager number displayed throughout the hostel and in the window of reception next to the gate for any late arrivals. We will make sure that the number is more visible to our guests in case of anyone getting locked out.

In reference to the kitchen opening times, our kitchen is open from 6.30am and we do allow people to keep the cutlery sets overnight if they have early trips to make sure they are able to have breakfast. Our Night Managers clean the kitchens during the night and they are touched up between 7-9 am, they have a deep clean after breakfast and again between 4-6pm. We try to close the kitchen for half an hour only during these times as we have found people use the kitchen the least.

We provided plastic cups for safety reasons and because they are microwave friendly. We have found that keeping the sets at reception stop people from keeping dirty dishes under the beds.

Unfortunately, our balcony area closes at 9pm due to the poor behaviour of previous guests and for security in the hostel. We do keep the TV area and the kitchen open until 10pm.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    25
    15
    23
See reviews for
Families
0
18
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a week - smack bang in the middle of town (cheapest hostle Iv'e stayed at in a city so far) a fair price with sooo much to offer. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms and facilities were awsome. would stay here agen.. =]

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights.
We were in a 4 bed dorm. They are bunkless so this is a good point, everyone sleeps in a good bed. They just give you one sheet, no blanket. The 3 first night, it was very cold as they always leave the air con on, and you can switch off by yourself so it is annoying. We asked the reception to turn it off as they didn't want to give us blankets, but they couldn't even turn it off!!!! Finally, for the last night they gave us a blanket !
Rooms were very dirty, they don't vacuum under the bed, we found some clothes which weren't ours.
The hostel is pretty quiet which is good.
Bathrooms are TERRIBLE. Toilets are cleaned once a day i think, this is disgusting and smelly. Showers are cleaned once too, and they are very dirty...
We had a pretty bad experience with the kitchen, we wanted to boil some water, but the cattle weren't working, so we decided to do it on gas, but we needed a lighter to start it BUT we don't smoke.... So that was really annoying.
Location is perfect, 15 minutes walk from the bus station, and the shuttle to the airport stops just in front of the backpack.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Upon arriving at Global Backpackers at around 6pm, we were given the key to our room. We had rented out a private, as it was my last night in Australia and I wanted to enjoy it and sleep well. We walked into the room and found that the beds were not made, and that there was someone else's puke on my pillow. When I went downstairs to complain, the staff were more concerned with how this could have happened, as opposed to rectifying the situation. The room they finally put us in was not even much better, as the floor was sticky and we found areas that were so dirty we didn't even want to know what happened there previously.

The bathrooms are a five minute walk from your room, and looked like they haven't been cleaned since 2010. They smell like it too. We were extremely disappointed. The only good thing about this hostel was its location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed in a 3 shared room (not even the cheapest) and just wanted to leave the next morning.
After me and my friend checked in nobody helped us finding our room, kitchen or the toilets. My friend had to change her bedsheets on her own, because they have been used and dirty. I should have checked mine too, old blood everywhere
The hostel is not very social and the fact that you are not allowed to drink alcohol makes it very hard to meet people and for example the balcony closes at 9 even worst. You have to walk all the way out to get some air. (No alcohol, still a really noisy hostel and it still smelled like piss on the hallway at night)
The staff at the reception reacted really rude about our problems.
In the end i can say that Global Backpackers Central is the worst hostel i have been to so far.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed at a private double, which was clean, with a good fan and aircon. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this is not for you as the rooms are right at a main hallway and you can hear everything as all noise just echos. Balcony was nice and the location is right in Cairns so it's easy to get to everything (pubs, woolworths etc). Plus they give vouchers for 50% of meals at a local pub which was good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is really good, close to the main street, convienent, outside already is the pick up/ drop off point of the tours.
Staff is welcoming and helpful. I stayed in 8 ppl mixed dorm, bed already made with pillow and duvet. if something could be improved, that must be the cleanliness of the room, hope the staff would sweep the floor or pick up the rubbish in the room.
I would reccommand my friends to choose this backpacker.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#28 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flying Monkey Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#27 of 84 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Backpackers Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.