We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great helpful staff, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Global Backpackers Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Global Backpackers Central to your Saves list
Global Backpackers Central
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great helpful staff, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed in t he hostel for 4 nights had a room with 4 beds which was spacious but bathroom was public at the floor. The reception team especially Chelsea was very helpful and nice and really made the stay pleasant. I got their help to arrange my next tours in Australia and my bus ticket to the east coast.

Room Tip: The 4 share room is very nice and not. Expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    23
    14
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
17
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend. This backpackers is the worst that I have stayed at. The staff were not helpful and rude. A fire alarm went off at 4AM in the morning!! We got no sleep due to rude and loud people staying 2 doors down harrasing us (staff were very unhelpful with this matter). Was a terrible stay and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Hostel is in good location but thats about all it has going for it!
On arrival, I asked the guy behind the desk for suggestions on things to do around the city and was told that he actually hand't been in Cairns too long and therefore had no information for us!
The first room we were allocated to was awful - really smelly, too many beds in a small room and peoples stuff thrown everywhere! When we asked to change room the guy at the desk tried charging us extra!
The kitchen is awful - only one pot with a handle, no lighters to light the gas cookers and not enough fridge/food storage space.
The $5 meal deals were awful - ended up having to buy food elsewhere after wasting our money!
On checkout I was told we were being 'very demanding' when we asked the same guy to book a taxi.

Overall - terrible service, kitchen was basic, too few toilet&showers and noisy - Don't stay here!

Room Tip: If you are in a large shared dorm - you are miles from the showers, so go in a small room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed in over 10 backpackers in cairns, global ticks all the boxes!! The kitchen is gold, the rooms are big, clean and nice. The air con is a god send, there is a cute pool and there is a balcony for drinking and eating!!! Good banter to be had here!! There is also a good TV area! Also...this hostel is slap-bang outside the Woolshead, what more can you ask for!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Spent 2 weeks in this hostel in mid july and loved it! The staff were outstanding, always very helpful and got me great deals on local tours. Also met a lot a great people when we went out to p.j.o'brians for the very tasty and cheap $5 meal deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hostel has a great location in Cairns and offers a good place to book tours and activities. However, it is the noisiest hostel I have ever stayed in. For the three nights we stayed there we were woken up at least twice between 1 and 4am each night by people in the hall space of the hostel, which is open plan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Okay so when i got to Cairns i started working at PJ'S (miss you guys) so i checked into global straight away and lets just say i didnt leave for 6 months!!!
i LOVED everything about global palace and it was a great place to meet new people and other long termers and i made some amazing life long friends here!! the night life was immense...nobody was ever left out and the goon was for everyone to share!! although it could be noisy at times at the end of the day it is a hostel in the middle of busy Cairns!! so its going to get a bit rowdy espesh in the high season but isnt that what travellings about...meeting new and wonderful people?
it was exceptionally clean (if i do say so myself-i was a house keeper for a few months for free rent) and the staff were amazing and friendly and you also get free meal vouchers for PJ's and great discounts on trips and grey hound bus tickets!!
you also have a large balcony with pool tables, a huge TV where we would have movie nights and a small but nice pool with a BBQ and loads of seating areas!!!!!
great for those pool parties!!!!

if your going to Cairns do yourself a favour and check into Global! you will have an amazing experiance and for $20 a night you'll have more dolla to spend on boxes of goon :)


miss you global....ill be back soon :) xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Address: 9b Shields Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Backpackers Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.