We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Team Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant

Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant
101 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4031 5400
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Team Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Used for a team dinner - situted on the esplanade close to other bars and restuarants - very busy and noisy - rustic - but great food and great imported staff from all over the place.
Dishes chosen were varied and no complaints - We started with some some skewers I had the pacific fusion which I really enjoyed.
took a stroll along the board walk back to the hotel
Hint gets really busy and not overly large so book ahead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    237
    86
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best mud crab ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Seafood is the best! We had the seafood platter with both hot and cold and this was plenty for three people, in fact we could not finish it. The mud crab was spectacular and so was the crayfish and other seafood on the platter. We splurged with a bottle of French Champagne since it was our last night in Cairns. The service was warm and friendly and we were treated like royalty. Highly recommended for that extra special seafood experience! You cannot get fresher than seafood from their tank!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great service and atmosphere. The food we ordered (close to $40 a meal) lacked substance and appeal. I wanted to sample the local cuisine (kangeroo etc) and hence chose the hop skip jump and jump. A piece of fish and 3 small pieces of meat served over bok choy with mashed pumpkin is not what i expected for $38. Some of the other meals at other tables looked better. I would go back, perhaps try the prawns or some of the pasta dishes which looked appealing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“delicious dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

the service was fabulous and food delicious. Staff were friendly. We loved being able to sit outside and enjoy the sights.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So pleased we decided to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We decided to take a friend who was visiting from Germany to this restaurant that, as locals, we had never dined at. We are so pleased we did! We were welcomed by a lovely female maitre'd and from there on our night just got better! We all had meals cooked to perfection..Cajun Threadfin, the Hop, Swim, Skip & Jump (Kangaroo, Emu, Barramundi & Crocodile) & the Cairns Combo. We then indulged in their desserts...yum! Our Scottish waiter was a delight! Can't wait for another excuse to eat there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raw Prawn Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.