We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dropped the ball in recent times” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill

Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill
Marlin Pde, 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4052 6780
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $0 - $92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Dropped the ball in recent times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mondos at the Hilton

We were looking forward to our meal here after not eating here for a while. I must say I was a little disappointed in our experience this time. There was intermittent showers so obviously staff did not sit people outside. That was fine and we were asked to wait, which we did. However after forty minutes we found a seat and the lady came up with a silly smile on her face saying sorry she forgot about us.

The weird part about this cafe/restaurant is that it is a part of the Hilton. Why is this weird........you get slugged with the 1.5% credit card surcharge as it is technically part of the hotel. You can't complain about the service because there is none! You get up to order, you collect your own drinks. The only service is getting your meals dropped off and the plates cleared.

Anyway, we had the satay chicken with Mondos 'famous fried rice'. The chicken and sauce was fine....nothing too famous about the fried rice.

All in all........it is passable for casual dining but that's it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    102
    49
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dont go if its raining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food is always good and location is wonderful, however if it is raining they have to then cram everyone inside and it is extremely noisy, sounds more like a cafeteria than a restaurant. Dining out side on the river edge is the best spot. Just unfortunate they do not have some kind of over head protection from the rain when required.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As a local, I find it hard to sample the myriad of waterfront dining options here in Cairns as I always gravitate back to Mondos. A small group of us had lunch here again recently and as always we were impressed with the fabulous food, outlook & service.For me, it's hard to go past the Cajun Calamari or the Spiced Calamari Salad! One would be hard pressed to find a more relaxing & gratifying dining experience along our delightful waterfront!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fajita's Fajita's Fajita's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

One of the best restaurants for a casual meal in all of Cairns, and we eat out a lot! If you're expecting silver service go elsewhere, Mondo is a Cafe Bar & Grill so table service isn't included but the food is positively delicious! If you are thinking about going I can not recommend the Fajita's enough..... Full of flavor! Will be back soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant dining waterfront location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Best cairns waterfront restaurant ,just dropped in for a drink in the afternoon and watched the ferries returning from the reef , not happy with their weekend or sunday surchage if they still do that, visited here several times over the last fifteen years or so and still the greatest atmosphere ,one can't imagine living anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo Cafe Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.