We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eggplant dish is delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marinades Indian Restaurant

Marinades Indian Restaurant
43 Spence Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
(07) 4041 1422
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eggplant dish is delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Owner was incredibly insistent that we had the eggplant and it was fantastic. Not super cheap but great quality Indian food.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    46
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best curry in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The food is excellent and full of flavour. I have been 3 times now and the quality is always good. Will definitely go back and back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Warm and Genuine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We dropped in after comparing it to the Indian restaurant 2 door down and were so glad we chose Marinades. Colours are warm, decor simple but meaningful and we were open to the hustle and bustle of the street.
We had a Lamb vindaloo, pumkin, mushroom and peas, curried cheese and a Goa fish curry. Everything was excellent and we could not finish a single one between my wife and I so were given 5 little plastic potfuls which made 4 an excellent breakfast with boiled eggs.
Friendly staff and respectful service from the workers and the owner. Food quality was first rate and there is no doubt it is put together with the love and hospitality that the subcontinent is famous for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great real indian food ,affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I've been to India twice and Sri Lanka 5 times and the food at this restaurant is authentic and true . It has a nice vibe and the service is prompt with water served as you sit , nice !!! Recommend booking a table close to the outside area as the restaurant can get noisy which is fine but i like too converse at dinner. Enjoy !!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food with terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not enough food explaination,so i ask staff. She was not kind and her face said like "what the hell, fucxing annoying". After then we got foods after 20minutes, it was good.
So we want to take away rest of curry and ask it.
The staff took our 2 Different curry, but i got 1 container. Thats it
She mixed them!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinades Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Marinades Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinades Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.