We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as always” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
64 Spence Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
(07) 4031 7711
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 411 restaurants in Cairns
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good as always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staff were friendly, Food was good. 18-hour slow cooked prime steak never failed me, even my dad who's not a big fan of steak liked their steaks a lot. Reasonably priced, <$150 feeds the 7 of us.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    38
    22
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
高岡市, 富山県
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tender and juicy ribs for Japanese tourists.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although we don't like so much of the American-like interior, the steak we ordered were all great. The waitress was quite attentive and friendly and she made it sure that we were satisfied or having enough beers. She even offered to take a group picture for us. If it were in the US, we should tip her well. We were sorry to forget her name but the quality of the rib steaks satisfied our choosy taste buds from Japan. Avocado with bearnaise sauce went very well with the rib. The only drawback was that they didn't agree to prepare the rib well done for one of us: they insist medium rare only. She had her rib medium well after the negotiation. It never happened in a Japanese steak restaurant so we were bit puzzled. Also the atmosphere was quite noisy with a large family with small kids. We ordered small cut ribs but we left no room for desserts. Thank you for the good meal. We will come back again when we visit Cairn next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“bloody lovely mate!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Yum Yum Yum what a great place this is the food is fantasmo..... just go there just go!!!!! but you dont need to much money great value and the fries are superbo!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

All started yesterday when my sister called to make a booking for 8 people for our mums birthday. The lady on the phone was really rude to my sister and we just put it down to her having a bad day. Anyway, we all got there this evening...service was ok apart from the 3 different people taking our order and they got confused. We got sat at the "booth" it was very small for 8 grown adults so we asked if we could move,
they rolled there eyes and it seemed like abit of a hassle for the orkers. After a while a lady came up and said they only had 2 18 hour slow cooked prime rib eye steaks left and could we just have normal steak ....said it was OK,
didn't have alot of choice really and asked if there is any difference in prices she went off and came back and with a
smirk, said a dollar and walked off... Not long later our starter (salt&pepper calamari) came out and was really
nice!!! Then our mains came out... we all had different toppings and such but all (bar 2) of our steaks was absolutely DISGUSTING!!!!  So fatty and tough!  We
all got it cooked different but they must not know the difference between rare medium and well done because people
didn't get what they asked for, I ordered mine m-wd....but mine was still mooing on my plate and the other people who
wanted rare got very VERY Well done. Most of us didn't eat it. The veg and chips were also cold, was going to tell
someone but no one stopped to ask how it was going. The girl cleared the table in total silence as she new it was a disgrace!! We did tell the guy when paying and he took a fewdollors off of my mums meal but hers was fine and wasnt worth it. After years of coming to HB and always having a ball and loving the food this time was definitely the WORST EVER!!! Thinking it would be nice to take our mum out for her birthday, but was far from it! I am a pretty easy going person and understand people get busy and what not, but running out of product at 7.30pm and the sheer rudeness we
got is just a joke!! We spent close to $500.00 and what for?!?! "Crap"!? I will be telling everyone I know not to go
there and as a local it's very sad to see such a great place
fall so low.  

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I ate at the Hog's Breath Restaurant while we were in Cairns, Australia in October, 2013. It was a great meal. The steaks were tender and juicy and cooked to our specification!! The baked potatoes were perfect. The service was good. The music was good. The atmosphere was good. One of the top two meals we had while we were in Australia for over 30 days. The meal was more like we are used to in the USA and was very satisfying. Now we will look for a Hogs' Breath Restaurant when we travel. Excellent!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog's Breath Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.