We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to go for the Early Bird Special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bills

Barnacle Bills
103 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Make sure to go for the Early Bird Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Seated before 6:00 and finish your meal by 7:30 and get 25% off your entire check! GREAT VALUE in Cairns, AU! Order the Taste of Australia!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    97
    45
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Fabulous seafood, and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Barnacle Bills is a bit of a Cairns icon. The service is prompt, the ambience is exceptional. Once ordered the meals arrive very promptly. The seafood mornay was a delight. Other members of my family enjoyed the Barramundi. Very, very delicious! Good quality all round.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareeba, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, meal & service excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We do love the food & atmosphere at this restaurant & have been several times before. We always try different dishes & are never disappointed. Tonight we booked a table & ordered before 6pm, the deal was you had to leave before 7.30pm to receive a 10 % discount, which is a great saver. The food was delicious & came out really quickly, we all enjoyed our meal & my husband got a sparkler on his Pavlova to celebrate his birthday ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overated overpriced bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a visitor to cairns we were recommended to try this restaurant 1st greeting up was a sour rude waitress who name was margaret so that didnt start the night riite food was very overpriced i ordered garlic prawns didnt even come with rice that is extra so then had to wait for rice while meal went cold have never paid $40 for garlic prawns anywhere other staff were friendly when i went to pay when i had booked had enquired about early dining 20% out by 7.30pm which we were but apparently you have to order by 6 our booking wasnt till 6 why didnt they tell me that when i booked she said i was lying this is the bill tough i told her word of mouth is not good for hospitality her reply was oh well to bad i think this old lady margaret needs to retire if she cant be respectful to customers so i would definately not recommend this restaurant unless u want overpriced food and rude serfvice

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice seafood linguine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great service. Mixed reviews on the food. The seafood linguine was delicious but the baked salmon main wasn't fully cooked. Only 2 kid friendly meals were available.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Bills also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Bills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.