We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you can go very far!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Esplanade to your Saves list
Nomads Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Tonara, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“if you can go very far!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are looking for a good host, try in other place! One of the worste hostel in Australia, really decadent structure, there was a nice atmosphere but to sleep inside has been a nightmare for us! Bad!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    10
    10
    35
See reviews for
4
13
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hostel is smack bang in the middle of where you want to be! Right on the esplanade close to all the attractions which was awesome. But the hostel is quite run down and dodgy. My sister and I got a private room with bunk beds…the sheets were filthy and the room was disgusting. So small we couldn't even fit our luggage and move around freely. I felt so claustrophobic I had to get out asap. We went downstairs and complained about the state of the room….the staff apologised and we were upgraded to a larger room which consisted of a double bed, stained carpet, a sink, a dirty chair and a broken window. But it seemed like the president suite after the first room! Oh and whatever you do don't swim in the pool…..your just asking for trouble if you do! We still had a great time in cairns and we paid next to nothing for our accommodation so you get what you pay for! However wouldn't stay again that's for sure! Plenty of other great hostels to choose from!

Room Tip: Private room with the double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Super friendly and helpful staff (they suggested and booked our fantastic Great Barrier Reef snorkelling trip). We stayed in an 8-bed dorm and found it clean and comfortable enough. Our roommates were great, and the hostel has a nice, social vibe, with the kitchen and common area. Right on the front, 10 seconds from the lagoon and all the restaurants/bars you could want. Air con only comes on without having to be paid for a night, but this is a small thing if you're out for most of the day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had such a great stay here! Caroline the manager is awesome she could not do enough for you! All the staff are great but Caroline really went the extra mile for me, she helped me choose a nice hotel in the area for when my boyfriend arrived, arranged dinner for us at the restaurant. Helped me out when I had no wifi and had some important things to sort out.
The hostel is your basic hostel, nothing fancy, but the atmosphere is great. It's the most social hostel I've stayed in (and I've stayed in a few) the staff were just the best! I couldn't rate them enough. The outside area is great because everyone meets there for a few drinks and we usually end up staying sat there for hours!
Everyone is so friendly at this hostel and I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nothing to say about the atmosphere and the staff. But the hostel it self need some improvement. It need some new funiter. Coach. New beds both of them new bunk beds and new mattresses it has bed bugs and that is horrible. I talked to many other who stayed there's and they had the same problem. The owner should really do something about this this pulls the stars down. But the atmosphere is great. The staff arrange tons of activities. All from volley ball to BBQ in the lagoon. The staff is great and they will take care of you. And it is a nice court yard where you can socializing and drink with other backpackers.

Wish it was free WiFi but it's not.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had a great time at this backpacker! Staff is fun and helpful For only $18 a night, you have breakfast and diner included.

I definitely recommend it to everyone!! Great location and cool ambiance !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our group of 6 girls stayed in an 8 bed dorm on 31 Dec 2013. We have stayed in numerous hostels both internationally & nationally. This one takes the cake! We encountered the following:

CLEANLINESS: I can't comment on the kitchen (but on appearance, it appeared very grotty). However, the room we were given was disgusting.
- The floors were disgusting. Under the beds were covered in dust & dirt along with various pieces of rubbish.
- The bins in the bedroom & bathroom hadn't been emptied for who knows how long. The guy on reception, claimed the rooms had been cleaned & proceeded to empty the bedroom bin.
- The surfaces were covered in dust & dirt.
- There was left over products ie shampoo, soap etc in the shower. Not to mention hair, mould etc
- There was also urine on the toilet seat.
- There was a large louvre missing from the only window.
- The furniture was falling apart, with at least one cupboard door just placed inside the unit.
- The airconditioner had what appeared to be faulty wiring with duct tape covering it. The airconditioner was coin operated, which did not work to start with. We were advised it would be complimentary after 8pm. When this did not take place, we were told it would be 9pm. Upon arriving back to the room at 1.30am, it still was only operational via coin deposit. We were not going to set our alarms hourly to keep the airconditioner running! With the missing louvre, it almost defeated the purpose anyway. This was in the middle of summer!

SECURITY: They sleep in the dorms like the guests do. If there's an issue, the after hours number doesn't get answered. We were lucky 2 other guests knew which room the security guy was in (asleep).

On a side note, their website for Nomads esplanade, is very misleading. If you look at the photo gallery, it shows a swimming pool. This place does not have a swimming pool. It shows lovely clean rooms, not so. It says the rooms are airconditioned, but there is no mention that it is coin operated!

The Hostel refuses to refund our money.

DO NOT STAY HERE! The photos are not indicative of the establishment. There are other better hostels in Cairns!

Room Tip: Just don't stay there. Pleanty of other Hostel options around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Esplanade

Address: 93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Esplanade Backpackers is located in the center of Cairns and opposites the waterfront and the famous Esplanade Lagoon. Nomads Esplanade offers a wide variety of accommodation styles, including a female only accommodation, dorm beds and private rooms. With great communal areas to meet other backpackers, Esplanade Backpackers is the best value budget accommodation in central Cairns.Book your sailing, PADI scuba diving courses, reef trips, east coast packages, west coast packages and onward accommodation with our highly praised travel desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.