We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of my life!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Esplanade to your Saves list
Nomads Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Time of my life!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I lived in the hostel for 5 weeks and had a great time. My room was big and clean and i met awesome people there. They also have a big breakfast every morning with pancakes. (They even have someone who makes them, so you just have to eat!)
The location is the best you can get in Cairns. It takes you 2 minutes to get to the lagoon and 5 to get to Wholworths. For the price it's the best you can get in Cairns!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    10
    10
    35
See reviews for
4
13
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairndow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have been staying at nomads for over two weeks now. I have to be honest and say the people are really nice, but the rooms need a big clean. The air con doesn't go on till 5 pm so the rooms are blistering hot and only one plug in works in the room till 5 pm. The walk way is extremely warm and all the heat goes under the doors and vents into your dorm room. The kitchen has no air con so it's pretty stuffy when cooking. The fridges turn off lots throughout the nights so in the morning when you go to get food it's warm and gross and spoiled. I've had to throw out loads of food because of this issue. When I got back to the hostel today I found that all of my food out of the fridge was thrown into the garbage. my meat, Chinese food, cheese. . . . All gone. So now I have to spend more money to replace and who knows maybe the fridge will shut off again at night. What a load of b s in my opinion. Glad I leave in two days, and never coming back. Do not reccomend to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms 1-9 are beside a warm hallway and the heat goes under your door and vents and keeps your rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Terrible place. We booked two beds in an eight bed dorm, after lugging our bags up the flight of stairs, got to our room to find only one free bed despite having paid for two. Incredibly noisy, filled with disrespectful backpackers. There is no barrier between you and them when they run yelling up and down the hallway ALL NIGHT. Please avoid this dirty horrible place. I have stayed in hostels all over Europe and never had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naha-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i have been stayed nomads for 3 weeks.i really like stay here.shower rooms are clean n pretty big,you can use 2 kitchens,you can watch DVD as big screen.
people are friendly specially nomads working staff.you can have new friends here,have grate experience,have remarkable time with back packers who from many different countries.

enjoy your journey.

Room Tip: room 26 is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was travelling with 4 of my friends and stayed in this hostel for 1 week. We stayed in a 6 share female dorm. I've stayed in this hostel before on my own 3 moths ago. Every day they cleaned the hostel and the room i was staying in. They really improved a lot since my last stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've stayed in this hostel 2 months and I don't regret it ! The location is perfect and it offers many free advantages such as free breackfast, dinner and shuttle from the airport. Staff members are great, they're always there when neened and they know how to entertain us with many awesome parties at night ! It's not a very big hostel so it's easy to meet people and make friends. Rooms are cleaned everyday and common areas several times a day, so it's always clean ! Don't hesitate to book at Nomads Esplanade, you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in this hostel 1 week ago. It was my 6th hostel in Australia already but one of the best I've been. It is not too big and because of everybody was hanging out in the courtyard i made a lot of friends there. It was great that they offered free evening vouchers and the breakfast was also free. I haven't seen that in the other hostels so far. In the evening I went out with some backpackers I met in the courtyard. There was this guy working in the hostel who gave everyone free vip tickets for the Woolshed and free drinks. Saved me a lot of money too haha!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Esplanade

Address: 93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Esplanade Backpackers is located in the center of Cairns and opposites the waterfront and the famous Esplanade Lagoon. Nomads Esplanade offers a wide variety of accommodation styles, including a female only accommodation, dorm beds and private rooms. With great communal areas to meet other backpackers, Esplanade Backpackers is the best value budget accommodation in central Cairns.Book your sailing, PADI scuba diving courses, reef trips, east coast packages, west coast packages and onward accommodation with our highly praised travel desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.