We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Esplanade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Esplanade to your Saves list
Nomads Esplanade
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
LA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“avoid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

entry is misleading the way it llooks pretty cool and like a lot of fun.... the staff and the rooms are altogether something different.
room was dirty, messy and reception staff are a bit too cool to care or help.... got the feeling it was just a job. good location but thats about it

Room Tip: no tip - stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    10
    10
    35
See reviews for
4
13
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nice place, place is lovely and really enjoyed everthing about it would stay again and weather was lovely to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Would not recommend staying there at all! Groast!

Rooms were very poor, lights did not work (girl at reception rather sat and did her nails instead of taking care), very smelly, water came dripping in, door of bathroom would not shut.

Complained and moved to a 3 bed room, which was tiny and just as dirty.

Location is great - but guests were weired and the place is a mess!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Nomads Esplanade in Cairns for 1 week. I really enjoyed it. The pancakes for breakfast were amazing and Carly Lingwood on reception was even more amazing. She was very friendly, helpful and hot. Oh my Jesus Christ she was hotter than the sun in cairns. And the sun in cairns burnt my skin big time. So you can imagine just how hot Carly is. I made sure to keep a safe distance from her whilst flirting with her so as not to suffer third degree burns. Man, she was hot!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was my first ever hostel experience, and I am very lucky this didn't scar me for life on hostels! As the title of this review suggests, I am almost positive I got bed bugs here. The entire weekend I was itchy all over, with distinct bite-like marks on my feet and legs. The staff was wildly unhelpful, putting me and my friends in separate rooms despite our having booked the trip together. Also, despite their advertising a free airport shuttle, they never came to pick us up - even after we called almost a dozen times. We ended up having to pay for a taxi after we waited two hours for the shuttle to arrive. Basically, you are much better off paying for an actual hotel, because this place is a disgusting hole.

Room Tip: Pick a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed here in February 2012. It was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in!! Disgustingly dirty, noisy all night, filthy, the buildings were in very bad condition, there was rubbish everywhere ( toilet paper all over the floor of the bathroom, a spoon in the bottom of the pool, beer bottles strewn around the common areas), the bathrooms stank. We had booked a double room but upon arrival they said they had made a mistake with our booking and that all double rooms were unavailable so put us in a twin room (no refunds were available). The room was just a bunk bed in a very very small room with hardly any room to move as the bunk bed took up most of the tiny room.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

booked a room to myself for my first night in Cairns, to get over my jetlag and sleep without being interrupted by fellow dormers. booked nomads because of very good location.
however my night turned out to be my worst hostel night EVER!
room was very very small: bunk bed with room basically built round the bed, really no space what so ever!
my room was next to the central courtyard where everyone gathered from 6pm to 2am to play very loud music, talk, smoke (pot?), drink, be loud!!
didn't seep AT ALL

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Esplanade

Address: 93 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Esplanade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Esplanade Backpackers is located in the center of Cairns and opposites the waterfront and the famous Esplanade Lagoon. Nomads Esplanade offers a wide variety of accommodation styles, including a female only accommodation, dorm beds and private rooms. With great communal areas to meet other backpackers, Esplanade Backpackers is the best value budget accommodation in central Cairns.Book your sailing, PADI scuba diving courses, reef trips, east coast packages, west coast packages and onward accommodation with our highly praised travel desk staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.