We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Harbour Lights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Harbour Lights to your Saves list
Cairns Harbour Lights
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    167
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
79
191
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Gday All,

I recently stayed at the Cairns Harbour Lights on the 20th June 2014 for 1 night in a One Bedroom apartment,

Normally, I would not stay at his Hotel however, have stayed here once before and accommodation was limited for this night.

Arrived at the location and check in process was easy and uncomplicated. Location is easy to find.

Parking is good without being to pokey and struggling to park. Cost to us was $10.

Stayed on Level 2 which was same level as the car park. Upon entering the room, it was OK. Obviously well used and by that I mean room near main door had big yellow marks on the carpet and bathroom had mould all around the door. However room was other wise Ok. I would say the rooms are you standard 1 bedroom rooms and were not small and generous.

The location is fantastic and that is a big draw card to me. The room I was in was looking across to the Hilton and literally a 1 minute walk you are at the Reef Casino. Underneath the hotel is a Italian restaurant, that whilst I didn't eat, had a steady stream of people going in and out of it.

It is a central location and that is a massive plus.

Overall, ok stay. Staff were friendly. Would I be back. Yeah if I was struggling to get my favourite place where I normally stay.

TIP - for those needing a pair of socks like I did, just walk to Woolworths and buy them there. LOL

Thanks Cairns Harbour Lights - you go OK.

Cheers

Room Tip: Avoid Level 2 and ask for a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It's always good to receive feedback that can assist other travellers and your review was detailed and well explained.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago and was pleasantly surprised that it is still in good condition - rooms are a little small, but very clean and well maintained. Only downside is finding a decent breakfast - plenty of places in town, but limited choice nearby.

Room Tip: Search around for a breakfast venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're pleased you were able to come back to the hotel and found it as enjoyable as you had in the past. Our top breakfast suggestion is Pullman Cairns International, located a short walk from the hotel. They offer a full buffet that receives great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton River, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here as I was travelling through Cairns for work.
Great views, good location, good facilities and friendly staff.
Even though I only stayed for one night, I would very happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're glad your stay was enjoyable.
Hopefully you'll get an opportunity to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We (my wife and I) recently spent 10 days in Cairns. We originally booked at another apartment hotel but changed two weeks before our trip to move a better location in Cairns. We booked a one-bedroom apartment which included a kitchenette.

The location of the CHL is great - right on the harbour - and the apartment was well maintained, clean and comfortable. We had a partial view of the harbour / inlet but, with it's location right on the water, this is a minor consideration. We could walk out the back of the hotel right on to the boardwalk that runs along the harbour foreshore. The Reef Casino is a two minute walk from the hotel - my wife loved this feature! It's also a pleasant couple of minutes walk to the Esplanade, a hub of activity in Cairns.

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Room service was discreet and efficient when we did have the room serviced. We opted out service a couple of times to sleep in.

Regrettably we didn't dine at Dundees (the CHL restaurant) but It seemed every time we walked past it in the evening it was packed.

We booked direct with the hotel and at the end of our stay there were no surprises - we were aware of the $10 a day parking charge, in fact quite reasonable.

In sum, the CHL is good vale for money in terms of location, facilities, comfort and service. I would recommend it to couples and families alike, especially for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Ours was at the end of the corridor on the 7th floor. Can't fault it - no noise - lovely sea br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel and the level of detail that you have offered to future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location is superb for this hotel. Right on the water. 2 minute walk to the casino, 2 minutes to the main shopping area. Restaurants strip within 5 minutes walk. The staff at the hotel were keen to please. The rooms were of good standard and spacious. The one thing that kind of put me off was simply the interior design. Other than that enjoyed the stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the great informative review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

A large block of units in a good position. Lovely restaurant underneath. Has the usual pool, barbecue area and gym. Our unit was very clean and well presented. The 'balcony' overlooked another building with a glimpse of water nearby. It was a short walk to the harbour (30 seconds!) and the various cruise boats.
A good place to stay if you are there to go on a cruise.

Room Tip: The best rooms (view wise)seem to belong to the permanent residents. Overall, good quality units in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNSHarbourLights, General Manager at Cairns Harbour Lights, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Harbour Lights

Address: 1 Marlin Parade | CityPort Harbourfront Complex, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Harbour Lights 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cairns Harbour Lights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Harbour Lights Hotel Cairns
Harbour Lights Apartments Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.