We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Koala Court Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   147 - 155 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a great apartment with all of the amenities-even two sinks in the bathroom which is great. Being picked up and dropped off at the airport saved us the hassle of getting a cab. Both Andy and Ruth were very helpful with the various questions we asked, even lending an umbrella and esky!
It has a nice pool within a tropical garden. It gets the sun in the morning.
It's a 25 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the centre. This didn't bother us too much as we hired a car.
If you're not bothered about not staying in the centre then I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our room was very nice. It was much larger than we needed, but had everything you wanted. It's a bit of a walk to the Esplanade, but not too bad. I think it was probably a 25 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were picked up from Cairns Airport and driven there when we left, which saved us a day on our car rental. We were greeted by name when we went to ask for advice and the advice was extremely useful. You can't beat local knowledge. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The apartment was comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed, including full cooking facilities and a laundry with washing machine and drier. There was a balcony to sit on. We didn't have a beach view or anything special, but with the palm trees and the birds and butterflies it was quite pleasant siting out there. It is about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive from the city centre and the esplanade, but there are shops and restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance. Cairns is a really good place to base yourself and whether you have a car or not there are lots of places to see within easy drive or coach trip and of course you can take the Kuranda railway or the cable car. We found plenty to occupy us for 2 weeks. This is not luxury accomodation but it was clean and comfortable. There is a pool and it seemed to us that it would a great place for a family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed only a night in a 1 bedroom unit but was pleasantly surprised but the standard of accommodation for the price. Kitchen was great with an oven and even some glad wrap in the drawer. The ground floor units are a bit dark but I'd go back and stay upstairs if possible. Nice gardens and pool area too. Andy, the manager is great and really helpful. The airport pick up was a bonus and free WiFi fantastic! Only downside is that it's on a bit of a busy street. But if you're looking for quality on a budget stay here.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and away from the roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at Koala court holiday apartments in November 2010. The hosts are wonderful, from the moment you check in they take the time to show you to your apartment, and nothing is a problem when you need assistance. And they offer free wireless which is awesome!!
The apartments are conveniently located only minutes walk to the beach -and the best fish and chip shop in Cairns also!!! Another bonus is that it is walking distance to the Cock n Bull Pub and restaurant....another great place to dine in Cairns. It is probably a bit far to walk to the city centre, but it is only a short drive to Cairns Central and we liked the fact that it was away from the busy town centre anyway.
The apartments are very clean, spacious and have everything provided in the kitchen that you would need. I would recommend these apartments to anyone that wants the space of a large apartment without paying excessive prices, and we are looking forward to staying again when we are next in Cairns!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at Koala Courts for two nights on our way back to NZ. We had four adults and two teenage children. They were really spacious and clean tidy apartments and well equipped. The owners were really great people who were really helpful. They recommended great places to shop and the Cock & Bull where they suggested we dine what amazing meals they were so huuuge with only one member of the group finishing their whole meal. The also took my in laws out to the airport for us.
I would recommend Koala Courts to anybody. Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We (two adults and two kids, age 19, 22 yrs) stayed at the Koala court before and after a Barrier Reef Sailing trip. Booked a 2 bed apartment both times and the rooms were very comfortable - clean, nice beds, roomy and well-appointed kitchen, and working laundry in the room. The owners were absolutely great and very friendly. Picked us up from the airport, quickly found toaster and other small kitchen appliances that were missing in the room, and gave us the best tips on where to eat around town. The Cock and Bull, just down the street, is an excellent deal with huge, tasty portions. The only (slight) negative is the location - it's is a bit of a walk to the CDB, but easily done in 15 -20 minutes, even in the sun and summer heat and showers. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koala Court Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Address: 147 - 155 McLeod Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Court Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Koala Court Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Court Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.