We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 201 Lake Street

Save Saved
You added 201 Lake Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
201 Lake Street
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   201 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I returned to Cairns to visit family and stayed 7 nights @ 201 Lake. I rented a 2 bed apartment (because my Mother, who lives out of state, joined me). Our apartment, indeed the entire complex, was just as the photos advertised: bright, modern and spacious. I had requested a high floor with a water view and the folks in the office came through for me. I also arrived earlier than normal checkin time and the apartment was ready. After a 28+ hours of travel from overseas, this was *much* appreciated! I found staff members I encountered to be welcoming and helpful.

Other reviewers have commented on noise levels and I agree that, at times, it is noisy. The architecture of the building seems to amplify even normal level sounds. Heavy doors, hard services, semi enclosed walkways all make ordinary comings-and-goings sound loud. Add some inconsiderate people who've been out partying who bump, bash, stumble and slam doors on the way to their apartment, and you do have a noisy experience. Sometimes. It's not constant and, thoughtless drunk people aside, it's no-one's fault. The cleaning crew aren't trying to wake you up:) Just keep in mind that if you're staying on a weekend night, you may encounter these noises and remember to pack some ear plugs:)

Other reviewers also commented on cleanliness. The kitchen garbage bin did smell a little and could do with a hot water-disinfectant wash, and the louvers on the balcony were grime-y. When I first opened the door there was an odor, however, I just opened all the windows and doors and the fresh breeze sorted it out. Is it the cleanest property I've ever stayed in? No. However, having lived in the Tropics I understand the unique challenges in keeping everything sparkling clean and 100% odor free. This is a nice property but it's not a luxury property. I imagine if they raised the level of cleaning required to keep the entire building glistening, the room rates would raise accordingly. The cleanliness level would not prevent me from returning to 201 Lake.

I can recommend apartment 42. Nicely furnished, suitably equipped, great water view (especially considering this property is not on the Esplanade), and good value for money. Your experience of Cairns will be better if you rent a car when staying here. 201 Lake is a good location, you can walk the Esplanade each morning. However, it's not smack-dab in the middle of the tourist-y Esplanade CBD happenings, so if that's what you're seeking get a car or find another property.

Room Tip: Apartment 42, on the top floor, has water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
38
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my third visit, the first was brief, the second a year ago for a few weeks - that was so relaxing & pleasant here I am again, also for several weeks. The units are spacious, well organised and comfortable, everything one needs is there from white goods, microwave, stove top and utensils to TV in lounge & bedroom etc.

The balcony which is not air-conditioned as the unit is, is a great place to dry clothes and to look out to sea and over Cairns. The walk into town is just under 15 mins so pleasant exercise especially when one returns along the beautifu Esplanade.

Phil & Suzi as hosts are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure one is well looked after and comfortable. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I love the rooms with seafront outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed in a hotel room for 5 nights for personal recreational travel.
I rented a car for a few days, but I was able to walk to all the main precincts in the city quite easily from the hotel. I registered my vehicle at reception and I was able to park at the front of the hotel without any issues - very convenient.
I didn't have any laundry facilities in my room, but the laundromat is about a block towards the city centre.
Check-in and Check-out was super easy, the manager/receiptionist was very accomdating, friendly and helpful.
The room is aesthetically pleasing with a king bed and a large bathroom. The toiled was placed unusually close to the wall, however, it caused no massive problems. Would have loved a bath, but the shower is roomy. The bathroom was actually my favourite part of the room - roomy, clean and calming colours. The bath products were also trendy and good quality. My room faced a backpackers and lake street, but the noise was minimal with the glass doors closed; not great for hanging out on the balcony, but the weather was cool enough for me to keep the doors closed!

The pool is what drew me to the hotel! I couldn't use it though as it was quite cool in the mornings and evenings - too cool! The pool is also in complete shade most of the day. Great place to snooze and catch up on some reading nevertheless; there's also quite a nice BBQ area by the pool and reception offer pre-made BBQ hampers at a cost. I was surprised to learn that extra towels for pool use are $2 for hire.

All in all, the hotel was great. I expected a tiny bit more considering the price for my stay. Reception in not always attended and you have to make a call to speak to someone. My room was a bit small, but the bathroom made up for it.The bed was slightly old and hard and the light shades by the bed were covered in thick dust. Also, the television in the room was extremely dated! But access to Foxtel is always good.

Great stay, but will try something else next time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the one bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After travelling for a week this apartment was a great place to chill out. We'll appointed with laundry facilities, bath/shower, king bed and really quiet. Check in and check out was a breeze nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on the 5th floor...parking not a problem.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th floor nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Peaks, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed at 201 Lake St for a month in May and while the building management and staff were exceptional I had the unfortunate experience of renting from an outside agency-Short Term Accomodation-Cairns.
It seems that Apt #23 is the only unit in the whole building rented by an outside agency and that both the owner and the agency don't care about the apt or clients that rent it. Black mold on the bedroom carpet, broken dishwasher, missing dishes, no cutlery, awful bed, no extra sheets and the list goes on and on and on. Contacted the rental agent and was told to make a list of deficiencies and everything would be taken care of. I wasted several days of my holiday waiting for dishwasher repair guy and mold abatement person to inspect the problems and nothing was ever rectified. Basically never heard from them again While I highly recommend staying at 201 Lake St if you are going to Cairns and want an apt close to everything, "DO NOT RENT" Apt # 23 from Short Term Accomodation-Carins. Book directly with 201 Lake Street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in May, loving every minute of it.
Clean, spacious, modern apartment with everything you need.
We had a room facing the Main Street but if you close the balcony door it blocked all street noise out.
We were aware that there will be extra cost for extra towel and house keeping but the room comes with washing machine, dryer, mob and other cleaning products, it was a delight to able to do laundry when needed.
10 mins walk to esplanade, lovely 20 mins walk to the city.
It's a service apartment, not a hotel. 201 lake st is like a home away from home, treat it with respect and you will have a wonderful stay.
We love it will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

If you like to sleep, then this isn't the place for you. Not only is it extremely noisy (traffic, noise from other apartments, cleaners at 7.30am on a Sunday morning), but the beds and pillows are terrible. The beds are hard and the pillows lumpy.
Also, they charge for anything and everything. I had to warn my children not to use anything (like little shampoos etc which are usually complementary). They didn't even have a box of tissues in the room. Don't think I've very encountered that before especially at the price they're charging.
Musty smelling too. BIG mistake staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 201 Lake Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 201 Lake Street

Address: 201 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 201 Lake Street 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the CBD of Cairns, the heart of Far North Queensland, this dream destination is situated just off the Esplanade at 201 Lake Street. Beautifully landscaped with palms and tropical plants, this six storey 4.5 star air-conditioned building contains contemporary 1 and 2 bedroom dual-keyed apartments as well as hotel rooms that strike a perfect balance between comfort and style. Spacious and with high ceilings, each 201 residence offers interior decor that suit the modern mood with fresh cool colours, sleek finishes and stylish fittings. The large open plan balconies expand your living area to create the ambiance the far north deserves. Facilities include a pool and BBQ entertainment area, located in the beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. With professional on-site management, the reception area, with separate tour desk, is modern and beautifully decorated. All the units are connected to a PABX phone system to give guests the use of telephone or computer. Each unit has a plasma screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your 201 Lake Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
201 Lake Street Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 201 Lake Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.