We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquillity at the feet of the forest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granadilla Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granadilla Villa
Save Saved
You added Granadilla Villa to your Saves list
112 Mansfield Street Earlville, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquillity at the feet of the forest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staying here now, sitting in the lush garden beside the pool and spa (a bit chilly to use at this time of the year) this is a glorious retreat with fantastic facilities. Comfortable beds, fresh linen, enormous well-equipped kitchen and lounge with a view to die for.
We are having a wonderful holiday.

Owner is extremely obliging.

Would definately come back.

Room Tip: Mastersuite at the end is glorious, with walkin robe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although on the outskirts of Cairns this place was perfect. The house was a throwback to the 70's but was in perfect condition, clean and tidy and very accommodating.
The pool and spa were the stars of the weekend, especially during 36 degree days.
I cannot speak highly enough of our time here. Would definitely stay again if spending a holiday in Cairns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

September 2012, we spent 10 magnificent days in Cairns, choosing to stay at Granadilla Villa, best choice of accommodation, it exceeded my expectations from the photos I'd seen on their website as well as their very reasonable rates. Granadilla Villa is very spacious, great sized kitchen and lounge, lovely pool and spa. Perfect location - very secluded, peaceful and private, but at the same time very convenient to shopping centres, restaurants and the City Centre. The host was fantastic, very willing to help organise tours as well as recommending great places to go, Rusty's Bazaar was one of these places we loved (recommended by Ivan), taste of the tropics - we don't get tropical fruit (jackfruit, star apples, black sapote) like that in Melbourne, how we miss it! Highly recommend Granadilla Villa as choice accommodation if you're planning a holiday to Cairns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Granadilla Villa is spacious and private with lovely outdoor areas - pool, spa, large deck, extensive gardens and marvellous views from its hill position overlooking Cairns. Plenty of room indoors and out for meals preparation, dining, lounging and having one's own space. Easy drive to shops and town centre. Host is extremely knowledgable and helpful in assisting with organising tours best suited to weather on the day and individuals' fitness and interests. He is also readily available and a great source of local knowledge on places to eat, buy seafood etc. Highly recommended. We plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently spent 6 days at Granadilla Villa on a family holiday. My husband and I travelled with two young children ( 6 and 4 ) from Victoria and we were joined by some family from London. The location was ideal, slightly in land but only a short drive to all the amenities and Cairns City Centre.

The Villa is situated in an extremely private location. It has a great pool, spa and spa bath together with all the home comforts that you could ask for. The accommodation was perfect in that we were both able to use it as an ideal base to explore the surrounds but equally also enjoy "home" days by just kicking back, relaxing and utilizing all the benefits the Villa itself had to offer. It is a very family friendly accommodation, the kids were always entertained which meant the adults could also relax.

My favourite feature was the uninterrupted view of Cairns, trully awesome !

My husband would say it was the pool, he and the kids spent every opportunity they could in there.

The host was also extremely helpful and accommodating. He has provided a lbrary of information about the local attractions which ensure you will not miss a thing !

I will definately return and would not hesitate to recommend the place to family, friends and beyond !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our Motor Cycle group trekked north to escape the southern winter and needed a base which was comfy and quiet to explore the North. Granadilla was perfect, all our needs catered for and plenty of room for individual needs.

Nothing forgotten in the planning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband I wanted to stay some where peaceful and private after working hard all year and we found it at Granadilla Villa. The house is every thing you could ask for and there was every thing you need. The view From the house is magnificent, I loved the large pool and spa and the large spa bath. One of my favourite places was the massage chair in the lounge room as we did not know there was going to be one there. We did have a bit of rain the first two days but the weather was beautiful for the remaining days of our stay. We hired a car so we could get around and we went to visit some very lovely places in the week we were there. Ivan is very helpful and is only a phone call away if you need him. We would recommend Granadilla Villa to everyone. It would be perfect for big families or even two family as the house has plenty of room.
Thank you again Ivan for making all this possible. Graham and Kay

Room Tip: I think a car is a must if you want to travel around to see everything that Cairns has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granadilla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granadilla Villa

Address: 112 Mansfield Street Earlville, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granadilla Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.