We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet But Very Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Central

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bohemia Central
Save
You added Bohemia Central to your Saves list
100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet But Very Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen was really good, always clean and plenty of stuff to use. Nice to have wifi but it only works in certain areas. Not the most social of places but had no problems staying here at all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything.
No noisy at all, quite clean.
There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea..
I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows.
The mattresses are comfortable.
The pool looked small but clean although I didn't use it.
The staff was polite.
The wifi is free and it works only in the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some may want more modern, but i feel old gives it charm. The pool is nice also :) For $20 it was nice sleep with fresh clean sheets, hot showers and fill up breakfast :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Oh Scott!! I remember you :)
Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D
You are very nice man.
We will always do our best.
Have a good one. :)))))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It was a great time.
Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR.
Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party.
Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean.
Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat.

All of staff are Sooooo kind. Thanks very much :))))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkalkkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi there~

Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party.
i wish we meet again.

Enjoy your travel.

Cheers ^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I appreciated it so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaStings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you!

Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception.

With some renovations, a paint job and some block out curtains it could lift its game. I would try other places before coming again. Did not get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to be one of the best hostels I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donegaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#49 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#23 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing