We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet But Very Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bohemia Central to your Saves list
Bohemia Central
100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet But Very Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because it was so cheap so wasn't expecting much but it definitely wasn't as bad as I had imagined. The rooms smelt pretty stuffy at times and the mattresses really hurt your back after a while but otherwise they were decent. Bathrooms were probably the worst part of the hostel ad the showers were useless and smelt. Kitchen was really good, always clean and plenty of stuff to use. Nice to have wifi but it only works in certain areas. Not the most social of places but had no problems staying here at all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hostel is old and need some paint, etc...anyway is in the city centre close to everything.
No noisy at all, quite clean.
There is a good breakfast, milk , bread, vegemite, margarine, jam, coffee, tea..
I stayed in a 6 dormbed for 3 nights, no mosquitos in fact there are flyscreens in every windows.
The mattresses are comfortable.
The pool looked small but clean although I didn't use it.
The staff was polite.
The wifi is free and it works only in the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here after being denied at the Jack because I am Australian, but it turned out brilliant. The lovely gal at reception was really friendly and happy. The wifi is brilliant, the free breakfast great, the rooms quiet, guests are friendly and none of the drunkenmess I seen at most other places. It is a old place, so some may want more modern, but i feel old gives it charm. The pool is nice also :) For $20 it was nice sleep with fresh clean sheets, hot showers and fill up breakfast :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia_Central, Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Oh Scott!! I remember you :)
Very much thanx for writing down like this:-D
You are very nice man.
We will always do our best.
Have a good one. :)))))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was a great time.
Every Thursday, They have a BBQ party in BAR.
Furthermore, The price of beer is cheap. I remember that 2 for $5 during BBQ party.
Sometimes just little bit noisy, but That's all right. Building is old but clean.
Some fan of backpackers are so dirty. but This hostel is neat.

All of staff are Sooooo kind. Thanks very much :))))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia_Central, Front Office Manager at Bohemia Central, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi there~

Thank you very much. We had great time at bbq party.
i wish we meet again.

Enjoy your travel.

Cheers ^^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a very nice place. The rooms were a tad cold however, and it was noisy at times. I was very grateful though. The owners were quite friendly and kind enough to let me stay when I was in a financial bind. They understood my situation and let me pay upon my leave when I had the cash. I appreciated it so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you think an authentic backpacker experience is to stay in a dodgy old hostel with questionable hygiene, BCC is the place for you!

Redeeming features are free wifi, central location and friendly staff, but the rooms are unimpressive and noisy. Everything is worn out and nasty looking once you get past reception.

With some renovations, a paint job and some block out curtains it could lift its game. I would try other places before coming again. Did not get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hostel has been taken over recently and new owners are really turning what used to be a great hostel into a complete dump. Room was filthy on check in and despite requesting it to be cleaned we never seen a cleaner the whole time we were there. Customer service was even worse. It's a major shame cause this used to be one of the best hostels I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 mi away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#21 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Central

Address: 100 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bohemia Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemia Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.