We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Reef Palms to your Saves list
Reef Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEED A BED TONIGHT?
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very helpful owners and staff, price and accommodation very good great value for money clean and well maintained .Booking of trips and tours, calling taxi, with their owen shuttle bus all done for you by friendly helpful staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi and thank you for writing. We have many guests from Townsville to come up for work or holidays and we appreciate you staying with us. Please come and stay with us again when you are travelling this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    110
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
135
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for only two night but would have been happy to have stayed a week. It is a great hotel and the facilities are spacious an clean. The outside bbq area and swimming pool with a jacuzzi are really super. The couple who run the hotel were so helpful they sorted out our barrier reef trip as we were let down by the one we had booked ourself. Then supplied aftersun when we got back burnt. They have a free bus that runs you to the harbour, town and to the airport so it doesn't matter that the hotel is a little way out. You can have a breakfast in the breakfast area if you wish but the rooms are fully fitted out with a kitchen so you can just do your own thing. They think of everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for writing, we try to think of everything to make your stay comfortable and pleasant so it was nice to read your comments. We loved having you stay with us and hope one day, to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent value hotel. We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable and well-stocked with kitchen things. It's a short walk to the water and the central tourist area, and it's not far from the airport. The proprietors were very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It is always great to have our guests from the USA stay with us, it is one country I have not had the pleasure of visiting yet and because of the vast size, certainly needs time to explore! We learn tips on places to visit and things to see, the same really as David and I like to give to our guests on the best places to see in and around our region. Thank you for taking the time to write and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was good value accommodation. We had a twin room which had two double beds and was very roomy. Kitchen was well equipped. Bathroom was a good size with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Accommodation was clean and the owners were helpful, genuinely pleased to have you stay. Only downside was that the wifi incurred a charge and when I went out to sit by the pool mid afternoon, there was no sun in that area. It is however a quiet location and still good value.
Sue, England

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for writing. We are currently trialling free internet access for our guests as many of our guests have asked for this service to be provided free. We are not able to offer unlimited free access however guests are now able to have six hours of free internet time that they can log into and out of so can use the time over a number of days if they wish. This appears to be working as most guests are on holidays and just want to check emails and send messages. David and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The personel were friendly and helpful.The owner drove us to the CBD 2 evenings and to the airport the day we left. The rooms are comfortable with refridgerators. Our bathroom had a spa tub. The only negative was it is not close to the CBD so you need to walk or take a taxi back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for writing and your kind review. We always try to provide transport for our guests where we can, even though it is only a 20 minute walk into the city centre we provide a free shuttle 4 times a day, it also gives us the chance to chat to our guests. Take care and if ever you are in Cairns again, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Reef Palms for 3 nights and found it to be a very friendly and comfortable place to stay and it was exceptional value. The rooms are spacious and contain kitchen facilities and the bed was really comfortable. Our room rate included a continental breakfast which provided everything you need to start the day. We liked the location, it is a short walk into town along The Esplanade with the return trip giving you a good amount of exercise for the day although David does provide a drop off service into town. A good option for an evening meal is Dunwoody's Tavern just up the road a bit, we found this preferable to the mostly over-priced restaurants in town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
David loves a chat with our guests as he takes them to the Reef Terminal for their day's out or sadly, when they have to leave us for the airport. We love meeting people from all over the world and it is always a privilege when you choose to stay with us. Thank you for your review and taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blockley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the best motel we found during our 2 month tour from Sydney to Cairns. Large rooms with balcony, well furnished, well equipped kitchenettes and excellent laundry facilities. Staff were very helpful and thoughtful, even served us a breakfast tray for our 4am departure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It is always nice to know that our lovely guests have had a great time with us. We are always looking at ways to improve our property. Thank you for writing and we hope your extended stay in Australia was a memorable trip. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.