We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Campers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Palms

Save Saved
You added Reef Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reef Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy Campers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for five days in June of 2012. Like many of the other reviewers have said, David and Sharon are great and the motel is perfect as a base for getting out and about in Cairns. Our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. We booked our diving, white water rafting and train trip up to Kuranda with Sharon as our facilitator. Her advice was detailed and spot on in every case. It's great having a local on your side to guide you through the thicket of offers and deals. She really looked out for us and gave us sound advice. We'll be going back to Cairns again at the end of October for a bit more diving and there is no question about where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, when you come back in October I will have to find a tour to top the White Water Rafting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    88
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
109
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great hosts. We arrived early and our rooms were prioritised to be cleaned. They were great rooms with air conditioning, ceiling fans and excellent cooking facilities (we were able to cook indian meals with ease).

The outdoor barbeque area was always clean and we often had breakfast outside. Although we didn't use the pool, this also looked clean.

Rooms were serviced daily and the hosts were always greeting us in the corridor and asking if our trip was going ok.

A courtesy bus also available to drop you off in various locations around cairns.

An excellent, low priced motel with all the facilities you have in your own home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our pool area upgrade is due to start shortly with the roof of the gazebo being replaced and our outdoor furniture to be replaced. David and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

David and Sharon of Reef Palms were fantastic: personable, honest, and most helpful. When our car rental failed us, David saved us. We thoroughly enjoyed the barbecue. We took delight in the Cairns esplanade only a few blocks away.
The next time we need lodging in Cairns, this would easily be our first choice.
Paul Wardell USA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Paul, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, we were very sorry that the car company you booked with let you down and we were glad to be able to help. Sugarland Car Rentals are a company we highly recommend and we were pleased they were able to provide you with a car for your onward journey. Cairns relies heavily on our tourist trade and it is very important to us that guests leave happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We landed at the Reef Palms after having had a terrible experience in a bad apartment hotel on our first night in Cairns. We were taken in and completely taken care of.
From helping us with what to do and when to helping us claim a refund from the other place we were at -- we were made to feel like part of the family from the moment we got in.
The room we had was fantastic, spacious, well lit and ventilated. It was kept to a great standard throughout the time we stayed there and felt like a home away from home.
Please do not be alarmed by the "distance" of Reef Palms from central Cairns! It is - at most - 20 minutes by foot (a lovely walk on the promenade), and the lovely owners run shuttles to the quay and train station throughout the day, so you can go in and out in style (and with less effort).

We had the most fantastic experience thanks to the lovely folks at the Reef Palms and the relaxing rooms and environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us. Your comments reflect exactly what we try to achieve a Reef Palms, a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

After researching affordable accommodation in Cairns we picked Reef Palms, we generally spend a bit more on hotels so were a bit unsure of what to expect. We were more than satisfied and ended up staying an extra 2 nights. The service was terrific, with both Sharon and David doing all they could to make sure our stay was an enjoyable one. The rooms was nice, both quite and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We didn't know where to stay for our visit to Cairns, doing a bit of internet research came across Reef Palms. The reviews were so positive and the place looked lovely. We didn't want to stay in the city so the location seemed perfect. We definitely made the right decision.

Sharon and David gave us a warm welcome and were so helpful in telling us about cairns, good places to eat, where to catch a bus if needed etc. We were a bit early getting there and were able to get into our room immediately which was great. We found the room so spacious, clean and comfortable. Eric was also extremely friendly and helpful to us as well.

We stayed four nights at Reef Palms before heading off to Port Douglas and the Daintree areas. We needed to stay another night in Cairns at the end of our holiday before catching flight back. Had booked another night at Reef Palms prior to coming, we must have known it was going to be a great place!!

Would certainly recommend Reef Palms to our family and friends if they go to Cairns.

Room Tip: We were upstairs, both of our rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsbeek, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent the last week of our holiday here and were pleasantly surprised by this nice motel. Very spacious self contained rooms (we had 2 double beds for just one couple), a courtesy bus that will take you to the airport, into the city and even to your pick up points, if you planned a tour (like visiting the outer reef).
They have free beach towels and umbrella's for you to use.

The staff was very friendly. I specially liked the new guy, Eric, so friendly and helpful!

Another plus for me was that, next to soap and shampoo, they even had body lotion available in the bathroom: awesome!

You can also book from a wide range of tours just at the motel desk, super easy!

I honestly have nothing bad to say about this motel. It's a bit further out of the center of town, walking distance of 20min (5minutes if you take the car), but therefor more spatious and less busy outside.

It was apparently recently refurbished, so if you still find pictures of the motel with old worn down furniture: it's not like that anymore.
Everything is very clean and new.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor at the front. Maybe a little noisier than the back, but nothing tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger Street | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.