We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore! Yes, another fully satisfied Getaway !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Getaway On Grafton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Getaway On Grafton to your Saves list
Getaway On Grafton
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Encore! Yes, another fully satisfied Getaway !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just completed another very successful event tour in Cairns, making great use of the excellent accommodation and facilities at Getaway for our 3rd time in countless visits to Cairns over the past 10+ years. So we tried quite a few. Getaway really is as it's described. The rooms are genuinely spacious (2 Br/2Br on double story apartment provides incredible space and living area/s compared to a regular hotel room style box.) And everything just works.

Our rooms were clean, really well appointed and stocked with all the equipment one could ever need for a "getaway" vacation in tropical Cairns. Yes, even and iron and ironing board, and no we didn't ! The layout of the various apartments ensures good separation, you don't feel you're living in someone else’s pocket. The overall complex is well designed and located, it's a short and doable walk from everywhere (20 minutes to the Reef Terminal along the very pleasant boardwalk - and a lot less to anywhere else along the main side of Shields St etc.)

The property is extremely well managed by Kevin and Linda who go to a lot of extra effort to ensure everything is "just right". As we have said previously, in Cairns you can pay a lot more, or pay a bit less. But if true value and a great stay is what you're seeking, have a good look at Getaway.

The real score should be the number of guests who would re-stay there again and again. Getaway clearly runs on quality repeat client business, eschewing the fast buck in favor of a longer term quality business model. That's the sure sign of a great property, well managed presenting true value. Winner.

Thanks again, we look forward to be back.

Room Tip: 2Br/2Ba is a fantastic "luxury" of extra space and ideal layout for family or group of fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your repeat business and for taking your time to leave another review on this page. Hopefully, we see next year again.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    61
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
120
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

had a great time the staff where great arranged every thing for us close to every thing the only thing I would say is the rooms need a good clean out once a month or so other than that it was great had a good time

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies that you found your apartment not being clean enough.
We pass on any feedback like this to our housekeeping team to further improve on our standards.
Regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staff very helpful in organizing trips, taxis etc. Wonderful accommodation for four adults. Very roomy. Clean and separate bathrooms. Well stocked and roomy. We loved it. Walking very easy to all things in town. Can recommend Getawat on Grafton without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you, Robert, for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodation and our efforts to help you in any way we can.
Kind regards,
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights with two children during the Cairns Ironman. Great sized townhouse, lovely pool and secure car parking. Quiet and private apartments that are great value for money. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you, KellyJayn, for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the Townhouse apartment and our facilities. We'd have you again.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice & clean two bedrooms apartment with a big lounge. The kitchen comes with everything you need. Staff are friendly and helpful. A bit walk from central & the reef terminal (15-20mins), but still ok for us. Good value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, Sarah_Luu. Feel free to recommend us to your friends and family.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulli, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed in a townhouse 9th may for 3 nights. On the fringe of the CBD but within walking distance to everything. Owners very helpful giving advice on eateries, local supermarkets, liquor stores etc. Booked trip to Kanundra on train, return on sky rail and outer reef cruise through Getaway on Grafton. Cannot fault this place or the owners, will stay again.

Room Tip: Prior to booking had read reviews regarding backpackers which is close to getaway on Grafton. Reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you, Georgene M, for your very positive review. Yes, we are always happy to help every guest with information on how to make the most of their stay at Getaway on Grafton and in Cairns and with bookings for any tour exploring this wonderful area.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed her for 5 days and was very satisfied with this property. Very clean and ensuite bathrooms for each of the two bedrooms. Close to waterfront and all amenities - walking distance to everything we needed. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms at the back of the property would be quieter than the front rooms on the main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevlinco, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you, eugbed, for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Getaway on Grafton in general and in one of our Townhouse apartments with ensuite bathrooms for both bedrooms in particular.
Regards, Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Getaway On Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway On Grafton

Address: 157 - 159 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Getaway On Grafton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, just one block from the city, Getaway on Grafton is close to the Esplanade and within minutes walking distance of the city attractions. This superior holiday complex of 1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments features open-plan living. There is a fully appointed kitchen in each apartment, which includes a dishwasher and microwave. Getaway On Grafton is focused around resort style pool and spa, with a distinctly tropical theme. Enjoy the warm breezes from the private balcony of the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Getaway On Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Getaway On Grafton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.