We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value 5 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Gardens

Save Saved
You added Cascade Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cascade Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great value 5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

we stayed at this property purely because we read an adverse review.we found our 2 week stay faultless.the 1 bedroom apartment ideal,the pool small but 5 minutes walk to the lagoon,the barbacue area excellent and a place to learn more about cairns.secured parking free.the front office excellent no request was a problem both glenda and her husband operate this property with calm welcome service.we only hope the owners appreciate the wonderful job they are doing.and from our side it is operated by locals not backpackers that is why the service is excellent.would say try it.

Room Tip: try to avoid the front steet can be noisy but you get used to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed four nights for work in Cairns. Room comfortable and well equiped. My 14yo daughter joined me for the 3rd and 4th nights. She was welcomed and made comfortable when she arrived while I was at work. Glenda is delightful, and very helpful. We'd has a lot of rain while we were there. When we checked out Glenda enquired if we were sure we would be able to make it home, and offered us our room back at no charge if we were turned around. It was a lovely gesture, and much appreciated.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Front Office Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Im glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and its great that the facilities and location suited you and your lovely daughter. Our house keeping staff work hard to make sure the rooms are clean and comfortable for your working stay. Hope the free Wi-fi came in handy for work.

Being a family business we do see a lot of our guests returning for work or just to stay to enjoy Cairns and we very much love having our guests return, makes for a friendly family enviroment.

We couldnt let you be flooded out so glady we would have made your room available for free.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cascade gardens is owned by a very friendly family. They are extremely helpful and courteous. We enjoyed our stay at these apartment. The day we were to reach cairns our flight was delayed so we called them to inform about our late check-in (12am to be precise) but they made sure our rooms were clean and wew got our room keys from a digital locker placed outside the gate.. They ensured we dont have to go through any stress for the check in formalities that night. The only drawback of this place is there is no lift..

Room Tip: Book a room on the ground floor in case u r sure of carrying very heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Didn't really enjoy my stay here. Thank god we had tours booked everyday we stayed here so did not have to spend much time in our rooms. It was almost impossible to sleep here. The aircon was very noisy and did not work very well. The beds were uncomfortable, and had two tied together to make a double bed which dipped in the middle, we might as well of just had 2 single beds!! The staff are friendly in assisting you with tours and local restaurants and bars but I thought it was very unprofessional how they complained about previous customers to us. Good points: the room was quite spacious and i liked the location as it was only a 10 minute walk from town but quiet at night. However the bad outweighed the good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent 5 nights through travel auctions. Room was good overlooking lake st. (322) (although noisy motor from building across the road) Cascade gardens very convenient to esplanade, so lots of walking was done. Done touristy things-Port Douglas,Karunda etc etc... All meals we had were reasonably priced and big serves,you get your monies worth. Glenda very nice and helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
852 reviews 852 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 271 cities Reviews in 271 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

No specific complaints, but then not a place I really look back on with pleasant memories either.

Its clean and well priced though, so I'm sure you can do a lot worse.

Its a good ten minutes walk from the action in Cairns.

It probably suffered due to my overall view on Cairns, which is that unless you are keen to go to backpacker pub nights out and are desperate for cheap steak and pint offers at big pubs then give it a swerve - there are some great places/towns to stay on the Far North Queensland Coast and I just don't get the appeal of Cairns.

I realise that Cairns is the centre of barrier reef trips, but you can do these from other places too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a week at Cascade Gardens. First the good points.
Staff were really helpful. We arrived late at night but they arranged a ppick up point for the key.
Room was clean. and roomy. Kitchen was fully equipped. Car park was large and secure.
Hotel situated a short walk (2 blocks) from restaurants, pubs etc.
Now the bad points.
No lift to upper floors.
Bathroom was a bit dated.
Bed was not good. The springs groaned every time you turned, a very cheap & nasty bed..
Fresh towels supplied on a weekly basis. If you need fresh towels it is a $2 charge per towel.
Fresh linen on beds on a weekly basis. $15 charge for fresh linen if required earlier.Air conditioner could only be set for 25 degrees. If you adjusted to lower temps the system dripped.
Other residents cooking smells permeated the whole floor.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay. The staff allowed us a late check out. I would recommend this hotel but just be aware of some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Address: 175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.