We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Gardens

Save Saved
You added Cascade Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cascade Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent 5 nights through travel auctions. Room was good overlooking lake st. (322) (although noisy motor from building across the road) Cascade gardens very convenient to esplanade, so lots of walking was done. Done touristy things-Port Douglas,Karunda etc etc... All meals we had were reasonably priced and big serves,you get your monies worth. Glenda very nice and helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
34
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
863 reviews 863 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 272 cities Reviews in 272 cities
494 helpful votes 494 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

No specific complaints, but then not a place I really look back on with pleasant memories either.

Its clean and well priced though, so I'm sure you can do a lot worse.

Its a good ten minutes walk from the action in Cairns.

It probably suffered due to my overall view on Cairns, which is that unless you are keen to go to backpacker pub nights out and are desperate for cheap steak and pint offers at big pubs then give it a swerve - there are some great places/towns to stay on the Far North Queensland Coast and I just don't get the appeal of Cairns.

I realise that Cairns is the centre of barrier reef trips, but you can do these from other places too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent a week at Cascade Gardens. First the good points.
Staff were really helpful. We arrived late at night but they arranged a ppick up point for the key.
Room was clean. and roomy. Kitchen was fully equipped. Car park was large and secure.
Hotel situated a short walk (2 blocks) from restaurants, pubs etc.
Now the bad points.
No lift to upper floors.
Bathroom was a bit dated.
Bed was not good. The springs groaned every time you turned, a very cheap & nasty bed..
Fresh towels supplied on a weekly basis. If you need fresh towels it is a $2 charge per towel.
Fresh linen on beds on a weekly basis. $15 charge for fresh linen if required earlier.Air conditioner could only be set for 25 degrees. If you adjusted to lower temps the system dripped.
Other residents cooking smells permeated the whole floor.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay. The staff allowed us a late check out. I would recommend this hotel but just be aware of some of the shortfalls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay awesome friendly staff willing to help out in every way our company have used this accomadation on and off since march 2012 our company work all over Australia so living in and out of motels for long periods of time we tend to try and find good clean affordable accomadation. The lighting and entry in the motel wether it be through the main gate or through the front door is simple and easy all the hallways are wide plenty of lighting for the late night returns the rooms we have used have good comfortable beds and some the crew we have are big boys so when they say the beds are good and they have had good night sleep they must good and all the guys who stayed there had no complaints great location and great rooms and bbq area easy access from the street with touch pad plenty of car parking will have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of traveling to the Cairns area in the future definitely be back here hopefully with my family and not for work lol till next time hopefully sooner than later
Billy from sydney

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

First impressions where ok. Pool was small and unappealing. Location was a good 10 to 15 min walk out of town so not very convenient at all. The studio room was pleasant enough but the "king bed" was actually two single mattesses in a king frame with a gap down the middle which made it impossible for a couple to sleep together. In was also very uncomfortable as the mattresses were so old you could feel the springs...we had terrible nights' sleep. We told the staff we were unhappy with the bed and they made the excuse that that's what they slept on and had no problems (which was totally irrelevant to our complaint). The TV did not face the bed so you could only watch from the chairs which had very thin cushions which were very hard and not suitable to relax in.
We asked to check out a day early and they would not comply with our request without charging us.
Consequently we felt like prisoners, not guests, as we simply did not want to be there. Not a very good customer relations strategy for the sake of one night's revenue.
We found the manager was good at acting pleasant if all was well but who's personality would "turn" when one would politely raise an issue.

So in conclusion find somewhere better than Cascade Gardens Cairns.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Comfortable convenient studio and 2 room suites close to the centre of Cairns. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowerhutt NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Spent a week here in June. Able to be self sufficiant, full kitchen facilities and washing machine. A quiet area and a short 10 min walk to city centre. Helpful managers. The only little thing we found was that our room was a bit dark at night, probably needed stronger light bulbs, strained my eyes writting my travel journal(pages and pages, did and saw heaps). Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Address: 175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.