We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Gardens

Save Saved
You added Cascade Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cascade Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We came back a week ago from a fantastic 5 night stay in Cairns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cascade Gardens. Glenda was extremely nice and helpful to us from the minute we arrived. Nothing was too much, and was really helpful with info on things to do and see while we were in Cairns. Was really nice to have such good friendly service, even after hours.

Good secure hotel, the room had everything we needed and was clean and tidy. Well equipped for someone wanting to cook meals etc. Especially loved the pool and outdoor area, and had a great bbq area to enjoy in the evenings.

Good location, good walking distance to the esplanade, restaurants, shops and night markets.

We absolutely loved it and I would recommend it to anyone one wanting a well priced self contained place to stay.

Thanks again Glenda and team for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back next time were in Cairns.

Debbie, Sue and Della.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
31
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogilvie, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a wonderful welcome! Makes one feel like family when you are miles away from your own family. Anything I needed, I got.Very homey...can have privacy or choose to joing in. When time allows it was great to have tea on a weekend morning and BBQ on Sunday evenings. Everything is clean and comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to Cairnsand staying at the Cascade Gardens. It's walking distance for almost everything.

Room Tip: Share your needs and the establishment tries their best to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Room ok needs a bit of re decoration but staff were very helpfull and went out of their way to help good location close to beach and town centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The managers excel at making their guests welcome. During my four visits last year, average stay 6 weeks; I always found my room and the facilities clean and well tended. As someone who travels extensively for work, I find the accommodations comfortable, not posh or “cookie cutter.” The atmosphere is homey but not intrusive. The rooms I stayed in, one bedroom, were good-sized, with a well-equipped kitchen. I appreciate how the owners have installed new fencing and landscaping around the grounds and upgraded the guest rooms; it is a lovely setting. I particularly enjoy the pool area with its large covered dining section, communal barbeque area, sparkling pool and attractive new landscaping. The location is convenient to both the foreshore (2 blocks) and downtown Cairns. I look forward to staying at Cascade Gardens during my three remaining business trips this year.

Room Tip: Let the manager know what you want, i.e. sunny or shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here about 2 months I was informed on check in weekly cleaning was included in the rate.
The cleaners never cleaned the room properly and then When i got home $395 was charged to my credit card for cleaning and some pre existing damage. They kept my credit card details from the initial booking and charged it later on
Stay away from this place. There are a lot of permanent owners and ferals illegally living in the complex flicking cigarette butts of the verandah etc. Im going to report that to cairns council as its zoned for holiday let.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
This guest caused major damage to our property and insurance claims were made as a direct result of the damage caused. We have photograpic evidence of the damage and filth left by this guest. As our apartments are individually owned, the owner is also involved and can justify the charges made. These charges in no way covered the damage caused.

In addition to these issues, this guest addressed letting issues which are totally unfounded and of no concern to him. We also herein highlight to you the seriousness of the defamation claims against other guests.

As per Trip Advisors editorial guidelines, the following have been violated:

Profanity or threats
Personal insults
Hearsay
Content not relevant to tourists

I am happy to answer any further questions you may have in regard to this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cascade Gardens in September 2010 and enjoyed it so much we decided to return with our two granddaughters in September 2011, which we did. We had a family room which suited us as the two girls had single beds and we occupied the larger room which had a spa bath in the en-suite. There the trouble started. I could not get into the shower as the bath was so high, even the 14yr old had trouble getting in and out, and my husband had a fall getting out. So we all used the smaller bathroom. The beds could have had a mat or pads under the casters as the bed rolled every time you sat on it, this could be dangerous.

The rooms were very clean, and kitchen area suited our needs, the laundry room was good plus the patio at the rear was great for eating dinner outdoors. The girls enjoyed the pool and outside spa. We had to ask several times for missing crockery and the managers were not as obliging as the previous managers who could not do enough for the visitors Several things we asked for were not done..We would not stay there again on our next visit to Cairns although the location was excellent..

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the South side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the high ratings you gave us in all areas. In response to this feedback, we have since placed castor cups under the feet of all beds and purchased all new kitchen supplies for all of the rooms. We are fully aware of the fact that the bath can be difficult to get in and out of and with future renovations, the bath will be removed and replaced with a double shower. We apologise if we came across as unobliging. As a family operated business, we pride ourselves on fantastic customer service and generally have a good repore with all guests, as we felt we had with your husband who happily visited reception for a chit chat every day during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was one of our favourites as it was our parents. My parents used to stay here for 8 weeks a year while they visited my brother in Cairns. We would meet them there for a week of the stay. It used to be fabulous, then new managers moved in. It is close to town, an easy walk down the esplanade to the restaurants and shops. The pool is great as is the entertainment area, bbq, fridge and sink for all to use. The rooms are fine, they are clean with kitchenettes which is very handy. We stayed in a ground floor one with a great patio area on the northern side, don't go southern as the rooms are dark and patios tiny. The old managers couldn't do enough for you but the new people (been there well over a year now) not so much. We had three of us staying and only had two pillows, had to ask 3 times for extra one. The managers have a dog which has the run of the place including the pool. This is not acceptable behaviour and I thought would be against regulations. Yuk !!! Does a dog wipe it's butt, I think not so the mind boggles at why you would allow an animal in a publicly used pool for residents and visitors alike. We brought this to the Managers attention and were assured it wouldn't happen again (well the very next day, the dog must have been hot). Not very helpful when it came to tourist attractions either, luckily my brother is a local and could help us out. It's a shame really as all us regulars will no longer be staying at this property, I would rather pay extra and stay a little closer to town and not share my holiday with a sniffiling dog and rude managers.
Such a shame!!! This was our favourite place in Cairns to stay after trying many others over the 18 years of visiting.

Room Tip: North Side, ground floor are the best !!! Big patios, full size fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CascadeGardens, Manager at Cascade Gardens, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and high scoring. In response to your concerns, we have since purchased all new pillows and each room contains 2 pillows per guest. We are also more than happy to provide additional linen on request. As we are a family business and live on site full time, we do have a family pet who is loved by many guests. We also pride ourselves on the cleanliness and friendliness of the complex. We apologise if at any time during your stay we came across as anything less than professional and obliging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Gardens

Also Known As:
Cascade Gardens Cairns
Cascade Gardens Hotel Cairns
Address: 175 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cascade Gardens 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Cairns - do it in style and stay with us. We are a family run business and we live on site which gives our resort that personal touch. We love helping our guest and pride ourselves on making sure your holiday is the best it can possibly be. The resort lies in the Heart of Cairns, within a five minute walk to the Cairns CBD or our famous stunning lagoon pool which is located along the tranquil Cairns Esplanade. We offer fully furnished boutique style apartments equipped with everything you need for one guest or five. We have cute to boot studio apartments - perfect for couples on a romantic getaway or that conference with work. Our studios boast full kitchen facilities as well as LCD TV to watch whilst you relax in bed. Our desirable One Bedroom apartments are perfect for couples or Families. They offer that touch more privacy and come with full kitchen and washing facilities. Our Amazing two bedroom apartment is truly stunning. It boasts a massive master bedroom complete with en-suite and spa bath. There is also a second bathroom, huge living area and full kitchen and washing facilities. Truly beautiful! We also offer accommodation in a small dorm for backpackers who wish to stay in style and are looking for a more upmarket option. Our resort also offers our guests gym facilities, a public laundry on site including washing machines and dryers. A beautiful pool area complete with a bubbling spa, shady umbrellas and reclining chairs to melt the stress of daily life away. A large BBQ area perfect for a gathering with friends and family. We also offer a fully equipped tour desk to book all your tours to the amazing Great Barrier Reef to skydiving for all you adrenaline junkies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cascade Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.