We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Koala Beach Resort to your Saves list
Koala Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koala Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137-139 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly Nice. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Only stayed here one night but got a really good feeling about the place. Girl on reception was really nice. The room was more of an apartment with two bunk beds. Really nice and spacious with a good shower/bathroom. If I stayed in cairns longer I would definitely have extended my stay here. Kitchen was clean and tidy. A big thumbs up!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    7
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
8
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have just spent nearly 3 months living in Koalas, the location is perfect and the staff are always helpful :) the rooms are less dormitory and more like a flat, Which makes living there allot more like your own personnel space (the four bed dorms are worth the extra ;D) All in all if you are looking to party all the time and go crazy its not for you.. Koalas is a nice friendly environment where everyone is loving life and living
the dream and getting a good nights sleep :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great value for the price; one of the cheapest hostels in Cairns and definitely one of the best. A friendly atmosphere between all guests, great for backpackers and all travelers, with a free pool and snooker table to enjoy with the people you meet. Although definitely not a 'party hostel' (quiet after 10:30) you can always find something to do at night with the hostel just a stones throw away from the best clubs and bars in Cairns. Perhaps the kitchen area is a bit small but you definitely cant complain with fridges in most rooms and amazing air conditioning in all. If you don't feel like cooking you can get vouchers for 40% off meals at Wool Shed or a large meal with a pot of beer/wine/soft drink for just $6.50 at P.J O'Briens! In a great location, excellent staff (shout out to Teresa) and great value for money; why go anywhere else!?!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was already two times in Cairns for 4,5 month in total and I have stayed until now in Koalas. I've met the best people in this hostel. The manager Teresa is great and helped me always out where ever she could. The cleaning staff do basic cleaning, topping up toilet paper and changing bins every morning and they changed my bedsheets whenever I wanted to. It has been a great place to live for me, because it suits perfect to me. It is a very social hostel and you get very close to everyone. It is a great place for people who want to relax and a great place for those who like to have a drink, or two.

I found it very fun to read a few references here. I have never seen any hostel during the last 10 month of traveling which offers those facilities for that amount of money. Own bathroom: shower, sink, towelholder, toilet - aircon - most of the dorms have a small living room with sofas/seats, tables, a fridge and another sink. For 15 - 20$ ?!

If you have 5 star expectations, pay 100$ per night in pullman international or hilton. If you can't afford it than the Koala beach resort is the best and cheapest place I've lived in and it was always a home for me. Everyday vouchers for a cheap meal at woolshed or PJO (6,5$ for a meal + drink). 3-5 minutes to the esplanade/lagoon, restaurants, clubs, woolworth, bottleshop. 6-10 minutes to the mall, habour, more clubs, more restaurants, more bottleshops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After being in four different hostels in Cairns I decided to stay in the Koala Beach Resort. The price is probably the lowest in the city, and the location is really good with only a few minutes walk to the lagoon, grocery stores and the biggest night clubs. The rooms I stayed in the Koala had a fridge, a small kitchen and a bathroom. The hostel is perfect for anyone looking for staying in Cairns for longer, but also good when you're searching for a place to rest for example between day trips – there is no loud noise after 10.30 pm. The pool area was in daily use, and a free pool table was a perfect spot to invite friend for a couple of beers before going out. This is not the best well known hostel in Cairns, and therefore it's a great pick with a low price but good services.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two times at the Koalas and enjoyed both stays. I've been there with a friend and we had big rooms each time with ensuite, kitchenette and air-conditioning. The rooms were clean as was the pool. The kitchen isn't too big but sufficient and plates and cutlery is available at reception. You recieve a voucher for an Irish pub every night which gives you 50% off the usual price.
The staff was always very friendly and we felt very welcome.
The hostel is located right at the city center, not far from the lagoon and the Cairns Central.
I would recommend the hostel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hostel had no social life which could be prevented by a bar or serving food.

You will need to provide your own cutlery and plates, since you don't find that in the lousy kitchen.

The receptions opening hours are insufficient and the hostel itself could need a great renovation. Air condition was the only good thing about the room!

I minor detail was that I couldn't get a refund for prepaid nights, nothing special, but annoying.

Stay somewhere else while you are in cairns.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Address: 137-139 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koala Beach Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.