We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Beach Resort

Koala Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Koala Beach Resort to your Saves list
Koala Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   137-139 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
1 review
“Great staff and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two times at the Koalas and enjoyed both stays. I've been there with a friend and we had big rooms each time with ensuite, kitchenette and air-conditioning. The rooms were clean as was the pool. The kitchen isn't too big but sufficient and plates and cutlery is available at reception. You recieve a voucher for an Irish pub every night which gives you 50% off the usual price.
The staff was always very friendly and we felt very welcome.
The hostel is located right at the city center, not far from the lagoon and the Cairns Central.
I would recommend the hostel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
10
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hostel had no social life which could be prevented by a bar or serving food.

You will need to provide your own cutlery and plates, since you don't find that in the lousy kitchen.

The receptions opening hours are insufficient and the hostel itself could need a great renovation. Air condition was the only good thing about the room!

I minor detail was that I couldn't get a refund for prepaid nights, nothing special, but annoying.

Stay somewhere else while you are in cairns.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights & we were really happy with our stay. It had a huge living area and kitchenette with a small fridge. The pool area is really nice & it's in the centre of town. Reception staff were helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, was a great price for a basic but clean 2 bedroom appartment. Pool was clean and front desk lady was very nice and let us do a late night check in and late check out. Bonus is its close to everything in the centre and short walk to the lagoon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Normanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked 4 nights here with some trepidation due to the rather mixed reviews, but really glad I did. To be honest the place does look a bit run-down, but no more than many a motel we have stayed at over the years. The 2 bedroom (7 bed) apartment, including kitchen, was basic but entirely adequate for the 3 of us and gave us far more space than a typical family hotel room. It looks like there hasn't been much spent on the place for a while and there was some obvious maintenance which needed to be done, but the housekeeping (sweep floor and empty bins) was done every day, and when some extra dusting was requested it was done straight away. The desk staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful with booking trips out to the reef and rainforest, and also getting on the phone and tracking down a late arriving tour bus. In fact it seemed like Theresa on the front desk was more or less running the place and making a pretty good job of it considering the limited resources at her disposal. The location is spot on, not right in the thick of the town but till only a couple of minutes walk away. The discounted meals in the Irish Pub would be very good value in the UK - for Aus they were unreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, the staff were super helpful and friendly and really went the extra mile. The room was everything I needed, nothing too flashy but perfect for the price. I could walk in less than 5 minutes to everything in Cairns, the location is really ideal - it's quiet at night, but you can walk safely to all the nightlife in about 50 metres distance, so the best of both worlds. Highly recommend this place to other travelers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at this hostel on three seperate nights only because of the cheap price (and I had a free night voucher from a Whitsundays tour). I honestly didn't mind the rooms. There are a lot of them and not a lot of people staying there from the looks of it, so I had a whole 6 bed to myself most of the daytime hours. I only ever shared with two other roommates max. The beds were comfortable, ensuite bathroom is a good bonus, and it was spacious. One or two nights the music and noise coming from a bar behind the hostel was really loud and distracting, but closing the window mostly helped.

However, the exterior was a nightmare. Like actually, I felt like I was walking into a potential slasher flick set at night. There is barely any lighting out in the courtyard aside from an eerie blue light above the sign and some dim lighting near the kitchen. The kitchen is dirty and cramped too. You need to hire out your dish sets and even pots and pans if you need them, but reception has such limited hours that this is a pain if you are checking in late or out early. The whole place seemed in disuse, like somebody left a creepy motel to abandonment. Also there seemed to be little to no social atmosphere, just people quietly making their meals sometimes and then keeping to themselves to eat at the picnic table or retreat to their rooms. I never saw anyone just hanging out outside. Since the whole place is set up motel style as well with about three-four stories (can't remember exactly), you need to drag your luggage up the stairs if you are anywhere but on the ground floor.

Reception was friendly and helpful, however, and the location was good. My advice though- only stay here if you're seriously tight on cash and just looking for a calm night of sleep. If you want to make any friends at all or even just hang out outside, it's too depressing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koala Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Beach Resort

Address: 137-139 Lake Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koala Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Koala Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Beach Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.