We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Centro Apartment Suites

Save Saved
You added Il Centro Apartment Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Centro Apartment Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 - 30 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked into the Il Centro for a one night stay for work in April 2014. On being dropped off by the taxi at the entrance, I was a little hesitant as the façade was less than impressive. I was met at the door by the manager and staff who were very jovial and polite. After checking in which was a very easy process, I was led to my room. Immediately upon getting out of the lift it was like I was in a different place, there were palm trees inside the courtyard hidden from the hustle and bustle of the exterior. The room was massive, I had a one bedroom apartment which was close to the largest one I have had. There was a slight musky smell (which many tropical north rooms have) but opening the window cleared that pretty quickly.

Overall this place is highly recommended. It is a little dated, but is superbly located for the convention centre. The only reason this stay didn't receive 5 stars is a couple of very minor maintenance issues. I have stayed in places an awful lot more expensive that this in Cairns but will make this my next stop guaranteed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
23
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

IL Centro was a fantastic place to stay, the rates were good and it was exceptional value, The guys handled all the tour bookings for us and pick the best of breed from the operators. The rooms are clean, fully self contained and laundry facilities. The location is perfect for a peaceful stay yet close to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed for a week in early November. This apartment had everything we were looking for to ensure we had a relaxed stay. Small kitchen, fully equipped laundry, effective air con & an extremely comfy bed. Even though we were a short walk to everything it was extremely quiet. The fact that the main Law Court is directly opposite meant that there was a police presence which made me feel very secure. They are having trouble with the pool surrounds & couldnt be used during our stay. It actually made our stay better by making us go down to the Esplanade pool which is huge & we had some wonderful conversations with people from all over the world. It was quite an experience sharing travel tips whilst hanging out in this great venue! Loved Il Centro!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had a pleasant and easy stay here over the recent long weekend.

The location is fantastic - easy walking distance to everything in the city centre, but remarkably quiet.

My apartment had a large renovated bathroom including washer, drier, bath and big fluffy towels. The kitchen was well appointed and had everything I needed.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. I checked in after hours, and this was no problem - when I arrived they had already made all the arrangements, and they gave me easy directions to get into my apartment. There was no one checking into my apartment on the day that I left, so staff offered for me to stay in the apartment for an extra couple of hours beyond checkout time until I left for the airport.

Excellent experience overall. I travel through Cairns several times a year, and I have had wildly differing experiences with accommodation. This was a good find, and prices are very reasonable.

I'll be back - thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place had everything we needed. The pool was closed while we were there but the room was clean and comfortable (great bed). Full kitchen and a washer drier makes it a great option for a longer stay. Close to the centre of town (a five to 10 minute walk to most places including the esplanade). Reasonable rates and the manager was very helpful. Quiet at night. We accidentally left our door ajar while we out all day and nothing was taken from our room. Being across the road from the Cairns Police HQ probably helps make it a pretty safe place to stay. Would definitely consider another stay when we return to Cairns....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a very good place to stay for a 4-day business trip for a function at the Cairns Convention Centre, only one block away.

Although slightly dated, my 1-bedroom apartment had everything I needed, particularly a comfortable bed and large bathroom with a great shower and good towels!

My unit faced west on Sheridan Street which was too noisy to open the balcony doors- the only windows in the unit. That was really the only drawback.

Otherwise the apartment was very comfortable, conveniently located to shops and restaurants, and good value for money, with working free wi-fi.

Good for a business trip, but probably not great for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in July. I was firstly greeted by a nice chap at the front desk who showed me to my room which was spacious and clean. The apartment was well equipped with everything that I could need - I had just spent two weeks in a campervan though so I may have been a bit over-enthusiastic! The pool was out of commission while I was there but this didn't bother me. For me, this was a great choice - central location, super value and really friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Centro Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Centro Apartment Suites

Address: 26 - 30 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Il Centro Apartment Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Il Centro Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Centro Apartment Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Centro Apartment Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.