We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putt Putt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Golf Club

Cairns Golf Club
Links Drive | Access Via Ray Jones Drive & Kate Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
+61 7 4037 6700
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 101 Outdoor Activities in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 18 Hole course located just 5 mins from Cairns CBD. 66 Motorised Carts, Driving range with fully licensed and airconditioned clubhouse. Course open for Social play almost every day. Please call ahead to book your tee time!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Putt Putt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A great way to spend a couple of hours with the family or even friends for a competitive game!! Low cost, great challenge & a super way to spend time with the kids. The driving range is right by & you can smash a couple of buckets out after your putting challenge... Keep your head down... Fore!!!!

Visited April 2014
1 Thank iamcharlie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“it is not the Masters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

nice people warm beer grumpy PRO SHOP STAFF slack food a bit of a boys club ( hidden secrets ) uncomfortable feeling .

Visited October 2013
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, General Manager at Cairns Golf Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Paul,
Firstly, thank you for your review and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time at Cairns Golf Club.
We are always looking for feedback (good and bad) and how to improve our CGC experience for locals and visitors alike. Could you please be a liitle more specific as to how the beer was warm, as we have recently installed a new beer reticulation system in the clubhouse and have seemingly not had any issues with beer temperature etc. Was this referring to the drinks from the Drinks Buggy on course?
Also I'd like a little more detail on the "boys club" and "grumpy pro shop staff"
I admit we do have a limited food selection during the week, ie our kitchen is not open 7 days but we are also coming out of a 3 month long wet season (last weekend being closed for Cyclone Ita) with limited play on the course.
Again, I apologise for not being up to your expectations and I hope you give us the chance to be better next time.
Matt Bolton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even practice session was a joy here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I didn't have time to play the course so went and borrowed an iron from the pro shop. It was a hot sunny morning and I had to slap on the factor 30.

Practice ground was immaculate playing off closely mown turf. Afterwards I repaired to the bar to drink a nice cold James Boag and chat to nice friendly barmaid.
Clubhouse well appointed and pleasantly informal. Sorry I didn't get 18 holes in here as it would have been great to play a course in great nick and take in the wonderful scenery surrounding the course.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa, South Austraila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Golf Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Played here like 30 years ago when it was not really that attractive. They have done so much work, greens, and fairways are fantastic. The day we went the weather was perfect but you really are going to need insect repellent and lots of it. Lots of bites but well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Thank MnM824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very friendly club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not the greatest golf course we've ever played but we did enjoy our round and the staff and members were very welcoming. They have made quite a few improvements since we last played a few years ago.

Visited June 2013
Thank golfsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns Golf Club also viewed


Been to Cairns Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing