We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice doggie park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Save Saved
You added Lake Placid Tourist Park to your Saves list
82-100 Lake Placid Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice doggie park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We are caravanning with 2 dogs and this place ticks most boxes. Green grass, shade, concrete slabs, tele connections, clean but dated ammens. Owners are friendly and helpful. Lovely walking paths and tracks to exercise dogs.
However sandflies were very friendly and dump points are not well placed. We would stay here again if visiting cairns as shopping is close and you are out of the hustle and bustle of city folk.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello RayF,

Thank you for your review of our park. It is a lovely slice of paradise and as you have mentioned close enough to a major shopping centre. Since taking over last October we have been planning changes and upgrades to the park. The amenities are to be renovated once the high season has ended and we are currently upgrading other areas of the park including dump points, roads, reception, shop etc. We hope that you will return next time your travels bring you back to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weipa, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Not really big dog friendly I was travelling from Sydney to Weipa and stayed here unfortunately just as Cyclone Ita decided to come through we were booked for two nights but needed to beat the cyclone so only stayed one night, so didn't get to see the place to have much of an opinion. Make sure if you take dogs you have dog runs with you as there is no where to put your dogs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our park, all our pet friendly cabins have a large undercover deck area for pets so it is unclear as to why there was no room for your dogs. In consideration of the weather at that time we were advising our guests that their pets should not be left unattended as they may experience anxiety and stress. Due to the approaching cyclone and for the safety of our staff and guests it is was necessary to implement our Emergency Plan and some services in the park were limited. Unfortunately it was not an ideal time to visit our park due to the impending cyclone and we are sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable one. As previously extended to those guests who had their stay with us shortened over that weekend, the offer of free accommodation upon a return visit is still applicable. Please keep the email that was sent to you as your reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We needed a long term caravan site option in Cairns and Lake Placid Tourist Park came up trumps. The park is nestled under the mountains and surrounded by lush tropical scenery. We have a 27' 5th wheeler and they gave us a long site with a concrete pad that had plenty of room for our rig and our tow vehicle. Hosts Roger & Michelle and their friendly staff were very helpful and accommodating providing good advice and assistance during the recent cyclone threat. As it turned out the park is in a naturally sheltered location and the effects were minimal, well worth remembering if you are venturing to Cairns in the summer months. Lake Placid is also a pet friendly park and our two cats were also very impressed with the facilities. The amenities were clean and regularly serviced and the pool, a must in Cairns, was beautifully maintained at all times. Lake Placid is a 15 minute drive from Cairns CBD, close to the Skyrail, Kuranda Scenic Railway and has easy access to the Atherton Tableland via the Kennedy highway 5 minutes up the road. The park itself is on the scenic Barron River and on a quiet cul-de-sac with a quality restaurant right next door. The park has excellent tourist info, a small kiosk for those essentials and is 5 minutes from Smithfield shopping centre for the more serious needs. We can thoroughly recommend Lake placid as a great base when you visit Cairns

Room Tip: Book early in the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello Franndon,

Thank you for your review of our park. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Just a reminder that there is always as spot here at the park for you if you decide to travel this way again. We wish you many safe and happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at this fantastic little park. We were absolutely blown away with the friendly service and gorgeous lodgings. Everything was immaculately kept, it is set out in a beautiful place with a lovely pool and surroundings. The staff were so friendly, advising us on the activities you can do around there, and booked it all for us! A big thank you for making our holiday so great. We will see you next year!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Nicola B for your lovely review of our park and staff. The rainforest surrounding the park makes it easy to relax and unwind. We look forward to your return visit. There are many adventures still awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My brothers & I had a great stay here in Cairns. The park is central to everything & the people in the office were able to help us book all of our adventures. We booked a few tours there with white water rafting being the most memorable. The guides were able to pick us up & drop us home from the park too!
Great location & friendly service, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you Kaine B for you review of our park. We appreciate the feedback you supplied about your White Water Rafting tour and have been able to recommend this tour to many more thrill seekers. We hope you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

stayed here recently on our 1st camper trailer outing and booked an ensuite powered site to keep the wife happy. Ensuite was modern & immaculate, well set out park, camp kitchen was 1st class and pool area very enjoyable. Chose the park as it is pet friendly and we had no problems as our hound is well behaved.
Location is central to a lot of attractions in a Cairns & Smithfield Shops are close by if you need to stock up, can certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you TravellingScorps for your review of our park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our park to be in a great location. We wish you safe and happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you want a real tropical paradise experience this is the place to stay! Great surroundings, fantastic staff, and close to everything! They can even book your outings for you, their recommendations were great! This park is quiet and friendly with the best management team!
Thanks Roger & Michele for making our time with you FANTASTIC! We will definitely be back....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele D, Manager at Lake Placid Tourist Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hello Michelle L,

Thank you for your review of Lake Placid Tourist Park. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for another adventure holiday. Our knowledgeable staff can put together a tour package for you so we ensure you make the most of your time in Cairns and Far North Queensland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Placid Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Tourist Park

Address: 82-100 Lake Placid Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Placid Tourist Park is set amongst 14 acres of tropical rainforest and is nestled at the base of the Barron Gorge National Park, and adjacent to the crystal clear waters of Lake Placid. Offering caravan and tent sites as well as budget, luxury and ensuite cabins, family villas and cottages, we have the perfect holiday accommodation for any traveller (pets welcome too)!Located 14km north west of Cairns city, the park is central to the main tourist attractions such as Skyrail, the Kuranda Scenic Railway and the northern beaches. Both adventure and tranquility await! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.